Slow Cooker Beef and Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2009
This was different. I had stew meat on hand and wanted to make a stew but sorta forgot that it would take me hours to make. So, I found this recipe and tried it. It's pretty much like a beef stroganoff and that isn't really one of our favorite meal. I followed the directions pretty much exactly. I used fresh mushrooms instead of canned and I couldn't find "golden" mushroom soup so I used the regular cream of mushroom. I left out the optional red wine. I loved that it came together in the slow cooker so that I could get the rest of my chores done without thinking about dinner. The flavor was really good. IF you like beef stroganoff then you'll really like this... I would've like my mushrooms to have stayed whole...but as mushrooms do, they shrink! =) I made both white rice and mashed potatoes and have to say that the rice was far better with this dish. I mixed them and the rice absorbed some of the liquid and it really was quite good. I'm not sure I would make this again. The kids (4 of them) ate it and said it was fine but not their favorite. They finished their plates but didn't ask for seconds. Overall, pretty good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom to 4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
I made this as it reads and we really enjoyed it. It had plenty of flavor and was very simple to make. I will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
My twin 8 year old boys loved it. My husband and I thought it was pretty salty. I didnt have red wine, but other than that followed recipe to a T. Served over white rice. So easy to make and makes the house smell great. Its 7 degrees outside now, so this was nice for the kids to come home to. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
This was really good. My family and I really enjoyed it. The meat was nice and tender and the gravy was very tasty. We don't normally like mushrooms but didn't mind them in this. Served it over white rice. Will certainly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
This was a hit at our house! I left out the wine because I didn't have any on hand. And instead of rice, I served it over egg noodles. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
This was very good- my family loved it. Because I used extra meat and because I love the flavor from the wine, I used a good cup or so of it. I don't think I'd consider the wine optional in this recipe since it's what makes it special. Also, another reviewer mentioned that they subbed cream of mushroom for the golden mushroom soup. That might do in a pinch, but they are very different things- I think the golden mushroom is more like a gravy. Thanks for this recipe Amber- it was very, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Citrus Punch
Home Town: Wilton, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
This was yummy! I used fresh, sliced mushrooms, so I added enough beef broth to cover everything. I served it over egg noodles and it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
Our family loves this one! We have already cooked it twice. Very simple yet it tastes like you slaved forever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moxievintage

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
This was a very nice recipe to try. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
I followed the directions exactly looking for a new way to make beef stew. It was ok. The flavor was a little bland, even with adding wine. It just tasted like cream of golden mushroom and not much else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

See how to put an easy spin on classic beef stroganoff.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States