Slow Cooker Beef and Mushroom Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
I absolutely loved this recipe although I made several changes. Because I have small children I normally do not cook with wine, so I reduced the wine to 1/2 cup, and used 1/2 cup of beef broth as well. I also added 1 stalk celery, a mix of seasonings including italian, one package onion soup mix, 5 small red potatoes cut into quarters and 1/2 cup of peas at the last 1/2 hour of cooking. I served it over buttered egg noodles with a loaf of french country bread. YUMM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
I made this exactly according to recipe and it's great. I served it with mashed potatoes since there is quite a bit of gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glenwood, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
YUMMY! This was very very good. I did change a bunch of stuff tho, but it was still incredible. I didn't brown the meat because i figured it would become overcooked since it was going to cook for 10 hours. I covered it in the flour and pepper and put it in the bottom. I didn't have red wine so i used cherry wine, and i just added basil, oregano,cumin,white pepper, and this complete seasoning instead of the standard italian seasoning. I also added potatoes, sugar snap peas, leeks, capers, and a can of diced garlic and basil tomatoes w/the sauce. I threw in some chorizo sausage and added some lemon juice to give it some acidity. It was INCREDIBLE! We absolutely could not get enough! def a staple in this kitchen from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by seagrapesmoothei

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
This dish was delicious! I made it last week and loved it sooo much I'm making it again this week. This time I am going to add a few potatos in there too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beckymahler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Yum... This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Very tasty... but definitely needed salt! I ended up adding about 1/2 teaspoon of salt at the end because the broth was quite bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
I make this recipe exactly as written with one exception: My hubby does not like cooked carrots, so I use red-skinned new potatoes (halved) instead. What a fabulous recipe! He absolutely LOVES this stew, and has asked me to make it on several occasions. I follow the directions exactly and this meal comes out great every time. Thanks Campbell's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
Very easy to put together and very tasty. My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
Really good. We put over rice. We will double the recipe next time, and triple the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milpitas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
Fantastic! We had enough for two meals, the first time I didn't serve a starch on the side and it seemed something was missing. The second time I made rosemary red potatos and served the stew poured over them, which was absolutely perfect! I would make this all winter long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicole1212

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sayville, New York, USA
Living In: Riverhead, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

Boxed Stuffing

With a few key ingredients, you can make a delicious stuffing in just 15 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States