Slow Cooker Beef and Mushroom Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
We really liked this stew. I changed it slightly. Doubled everything! Didn't brown the meat. Just thew it in the cooker. In the end it was just too soupy so I took about a third a cup of the stew/soup and mixed it with about a tablespoon of flour (no lumps please). Added this back to the pot and turned to high. Let cook for an additional 30 minutes and it thickened up. Needs some salt too. Served over rice. Very hearty meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Meridian, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
This is a good starter recipe. I added 2 potatoes and canned vegetable as well. Since I added 3 cans of vegetables I added a cup of water when I put it all together so it wouldn't get dry or thick too soon. I was a little worried after I added the wine because it was very strong but it all cooked out and the end result was very good. I served it with biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Pretty good. The only changes I made was 1/2c burgandy, 1/2c sherry because I ran out of the burgandy. I also added two red potatoes. It was pretty good, smelled great too. Would I make it again? not likely, but definately worth a try. The broth wasn't as thick as I'd like, add some cornstartch if you want it thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Very tasty... but definitely needed salt! I ended up adding about 1/2 teaspoon of salt at the end because the broth was quite bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
I absolutely loved this recipe although I made several changes. Because I have small children I normally do not cook with wine, so I reduced the wine to 1/2 cup, and used 1/2 cup of beef broth as well. I also added 1 stalk celery, a mix of seasonings including italian, one package onion soup mix, 5 small red potatoes cut into quarters and 1/2 cup of peas at the last 1/2 hour of cooking. I served it over buttered egg noodles with a loaf of french country bread. YUMM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
YUMMY! This was very very good. I did change a bunch of stuff tho, but it was still incredible. I didn't brown the meat because i figured it would become overcooked since it was going to cook for 10 hours. I covered it in the flour and pepper and put it in the bottom. I didn't have red wine so i used cherry wine, and i just added basil, oregano,cumin,white pepper, and this complete seasoning instead of the standard italian seasoning. I also added potatoes, sugar snap peas, leeks, capers, and a can of diced garlic and basil tomatoes w/the sauce. I threw in some chorizo sausage and added some lemon juice to give it some acidity. It was INCREDIBLE! We absolutely could not get enough! def a staple in this kitchen from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by seagrapesmoothei

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
This turned out great! Another one that the kids and hubby raved about. I used 16 oz of beef boullion and a sliced onion instead of the Campbell's soup. I had fresh green beans to use up and threw those in during the last 30 minutes of cooking. I let it cook for 10 hours while I was at work and it turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
Very easy to put together and very tasty. My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
Really good. We put over rice. We will double the recipe next time, and triple the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milpitas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
Awesome recipe. I made it for my hubby & parents, and we all really liked it. Just a note though, we wound up with 2 extra for dinner, and I then wished I'd doubled the recipe. Even if it had just been the 4 of us, leftovers would have been GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

Boxed Stuffing

With a few key ingredients, you can make a delicious stuffing in just 15 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States