Slow Cooker Bean Casserole AKA Sweet Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2001
My husband is a picky eater and he loved this. He said it was the best chili I had ever made. I did use maple syrup instead of molasses and I doubled the amount. I also used prepared mustard instead of dry. It was wonderful. Thank you for this recipe!!!!!! Chantelle in Alabama
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2001
We really enjoyed this recipe. I found it to be very flavourful and so simple to prepare. My husband and daughter hate bell peppers so i added corn and chopped onion instead. I served it with some baked cheese bread and a garden salad. The great thing about this dish is that it is very filling!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2002
This is a really great recipe! I add brown sugar to mine and it makes it even sweeter! I do omit the green pepper though! Even my three-year-old cleaned his plate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Valrico, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2002
absolutely fabulous!! i had to substitute onions for the peppers, and prepared mustard for the dry mustard but it was the most delicious thing i have eaten in a long time! my husband doesn't like sweet chilis, so i get to enjoy this all by myself. he doesn't know what he's missing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2002
thank you so much for this recipe! my whole family loved it! i will make this dish for family gatherings. thank you again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2002
I used onions instead of green peppers, syrup instead of molasses and prepared mustard. My family loved this...very similar to what my Mother-in-law use to make but she added 1 tsp. cinnamon. This is also great for scout camp cookouts. Just eat the chili on hamburger or hotdog buns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Williams Wilkerson
Home Town: Chapin, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2004
Very good! With a few alterations, this has become my favorite chili recipe. I omit the bacon and add a can of kidney beans, a can of tomato sauce, and some chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2004
Great! It's not a true "chili" by any means so if you are looking for a traditional chili recipe, don't make this. I was looking for a dish that I could make for a friend's family (she is having a baby) that even her 4 year old would eat and so I tried this. I had a hard time getting it to them as my husband wanted to eat it. I made the bacon in the oven (on a cookie sheet covered with foil at 425 degrees until crisp) to cut down on splattering on the stove top and added it as per the recipe. I left it in whole strips as I was unsure if people would want bacon in it and it would make it easier to remove, like a bayleaf. I have used green, yellow, and red peppers (whatever was in the garden) and even pepper haters ate it. Great dish that will please everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warwick, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
This gets five stars because my VERY VERY VERY picky seven year old liked this! I doubled the ammount of the baked beans, one can just didnt seem enough with all that meat. It was good, maybe what I would call kids chili. Adults used to a traditional, spicier chili, probably wont care for it too much. But what a hit with the kids! Next timt they want me to throw in some hot dogs. Whatever gets them to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BZBMOMOF3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, California, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
ok...let me preface this by saying that I don't usually like sweet chili. I loved this recipe. It was tasty and easy. I made these changes. corn syrup instead of molasses(personal preference)1 pound ground beef, 1 chopped onion, 1 can drained kidney beans, 1 8oz. can tomato sauce, 1 tsp. chili powder, and 1 Tbsp brown sugar. I browned the beef, cooked the onions and peppers and cooked the whole thing on low for 6-8 hours. oh yeah, I used porkless baked beans. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyBennett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States