Slow Cooker Bean Casserole AKA Sweet Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2001
We really enjoyed this recipe. I found it to be very flavourful and so simple to prepare. My husband and daughter hate bell peppers so i added corn and chopped onion instead. I served it with some baked cheese bread and a garden salad. The great thing about this dish is that it is very filling!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2001
My husband is a picky eater and he loved this. He said it was the best chili I had ever made. I did use maple syrup instead of molasses and I doubled the amount. I also used prepared mustard instead of dry. It was wonderful. Thank you for this recipe!!!!!! Chantelle in Alabama
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2002
This is a really great recipe! I add brown sugar to mine and it makes it even sweeter! I do omit the green pepper though! Even my three-year-old cleaned his plate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Valrico, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2002
absolutely fabulous!! i had to substitute onions for the peppers, and prepared mustard for the dry mustard but it was the most delicious thing i have eaten in a long time! my husband doesn't like sweet chilis, so i get to enjoy this all by myself. he doesn't know what he's missing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2002
thank you so much for this recipe! my whole family loved it! i will make this dish for family gatherings. thank you again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2002
I used onions instead of green peppers, syrup instead of molasses and prepared mustard. My family loved this...very similar to what my Mother-in-law use to make but she added 1 tsp. cinnamon. This is also great for scout camp cookouts. Just eat the chili on hamburger or hotdog buns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chapin, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2004
Very good! With a few alterations, this has become my favorite chili recipe. I omit the bacon and add a can of kidney beans, a can of tomato sauce, and some chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2004
Great! It's not a true "chili" by any means so if you are looking for a traditional chili recipe, don't make this. I was looking for a dish that I could make for a friend's family (she is having a baby) that even her 4 year old would eat and so I tried this. I had a hard time getting it to them as my husband wanted to eat it. I made the bacon in the oven (on a cookie sheet covered with foil at 425 degrees until crisp) to cut down on splattering on the stove top and added it as per the recipe. I left it in whole strips as I was unsure if people would want bacon in it and it would make it easier to remove, like a bayleaf. I have used green, yellow, and red peppers (whatever was in the garden) and even pepper haters ate it. Great dish that will please everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warwick, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
This gets five stars because my VERY VERY VERY picky seven year old liked this! I doubled the ammount of the baked beans, one can just didnt seem enough with all that meat. It was good, maybe what I would call kids chili. Adults used to a traditional, spicier chili, probably wont care for it too much. But what a hit with the kids! Next timt they want me to throw in some hot dogs. Whatever gets them to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BZBMOMOF3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, California, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
ok...let me preface this by saying that I don't usually like sweet chili. I loved this recipe. It was tasty and easy. I made these changes. corn syrup instead of molasses(personal preference)1 pound ground beef, 1 chopped onion, 1 can drained kidney beans, 1 8oz. can tomato sauce, 1 tsp. chili powder, and 1 Tbsp brown sugar. I browned the beef, cooked the onions and peppers and cooked the whole thing on low for 6-8 hours. oh yeah, I used porkless baked beans. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyBennett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States