Slow Cooker Bean Casserole AKA Sweet Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 8, 2008
This was a pretty good, "Base recipe", or a recipe that's easily modified. As many others have done, I changed the bean to meat ratio a bit and added onion. I've cooked for almost 30 years, 10+ as a professional chef. In all this time I've never thought to add hamburger to baked beans. Simple idea that works well. But I find it odd that so many people, (Including the author) refer to this as, "Chili". It's not chili. There are countless variations on chili, from "Texas style", to, "Cincinnati style" and everything in between. But one thing they all have in common is that they contain some sort of chile pepper, be it fresh, dried, paste, liquid, or whatever. A green bell pepper doesn't really count for this one. There's a reason chili is called, "Chili"...It has to contain CHILE. It's funny how many people have either said that this is their favorite chili recipe or that it wasn't very good chili. It's NOT chili and it's NOT supposed to be! I recently tried a new chocolate cake recipe...It wasn't very good chili either...But my family thought it was the best chili they ever tasted! ;~} I did really like the, "Slow Cooker Bean Casserole though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2001
My husband is a picky eater and he loved this. He said it was the best chili I had ever made. I did use maple syrup instead of molasses and I doubled the amount. I also used prepared mustard instead of dry. It was wonderful. Thank you for this recipe!!!!!! Chantelle in Alabama
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2002
I used onions instead of green peppers, syrup instead of molasses and prepared mustard. My family loved this...very similar to what my Mother-in-law use to make but she added 1 tsp. cinnamon. This is also great for scout camp cookouts. Just eat the chili on hamburger or hotdog buns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chapin, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
I make this all the time on the stove top but last thing i do is put it in a 9 x 13 cake pan and put biscuits on top and bake in oven until golden browned. Or I have used homemade corn bread on top instead of biscuits. Either way this is one recipe to keep around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss kelli
Reviewed: May 8, 2008
My Mom used to make this recipe when we were little, only she would add a can of stewed tomatos to it and would cut up red and green peppers (very small for our eagle eyes to miss). We loved it and it was a meal that Mom could stretch her dollar with and it didn't come out of a box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kankakee, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2002
Sorry, I was not impressed with this one. It is not thick enough to be a casserole but too thick to be a chili. In addition, not sure how crazy we are about the taste. Family was divided on it. Either way, won't make again. Thanks anyways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
My husband really liked this and even my 2 year old ate most of hers. I followed other's suggestions (mainly because those are the things I had on hand) and decreased the ground beef to 1 lb., used maple syrup in place of molasses, added 1/4 c. extra ketchup, used onion instead of bell pepper and doubled the baked beans. I also added some hotdog - which was great for the texture. Try it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
This gets five stars because my VERY VERY VERY picky seven year old liked this! I doubled the ammount of the baked beans, one can just didnt seem enough with all that meat. It was good, maybe what I would call kids chili. Adults used to a traditional, spicier chili, probably wont care for it too much. But what a hit with the kids! Next timt they want me to throw in some hot dogs. Whatever gets them to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BZBMOMOF3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, California, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2001
We really enjoyed this recipe. I found it to be very flavourful and so simple to prepare. My husband and daughter hate bell peppers so i added corn and chopped onion instead. I served it with some baked cheese bread and a garden salad. The great thing about this dish is that it is very filling!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
UPDATE: MADE THIS TO TAKE TO MY NEIGHBOR'S COOKOUT. MY BEANS HATING HUSBAND COMMENTED THAT HE WOULD GLADLY HAVE THESE AGAIN - WHOA! THIS TIME I ADDED 1/4 TSP. GARLIC POWDER / 1/2 TSP. CHILI POWDER (BECAUSE MY GROCER ONLY HAD MILD CHILI BEANS THIS TIME AROUND). I ALSO DID NOT DRAIN THE GREASE FROM MY (LEAN) BEEF AND I THINK THIS MADE ALL THE DIFFERENCE. MK This was pretty good, however.... THIS IS NOT CHILI! Think of this as a side dish you’d take to a cookout / BBQ to serve alongside grilled meats. My fiance & I BBQ'd for friends yesterday. This was the perfect complement to our grilled sausages, pub burgers, corn on the cobb, pasta salad and apple pie. Not withstanding the temptation to “change things up a bit,” I too made some (slight) modifications. My fiance doesn’t care for beans (especially sweet bean dishes), but will eat them on occasion. To please his palate, I added a 16 oz. can of chili beans (medium heat) IN ADDITION TO my 15 oz. can of pork n’ beans. Since I thought 1.5 lbs. of ground beef was too much, I only used 1 lb. worth (my grocer only sells 1 lb. pkg. of beef, so that was another reason to cut some of it). My last change was to substitute a sm. yellow onion for the green pepper called for (didn't have the latter). I ended up adding about 1/4 c. of brown sugar to my beans to give them a very slight sweet taste (but not so much so that my hubs would turn up his nose lol!). Thanks for sharing, DKUENSCH! This will become a staple potluck dish for sure! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States