Slow Cooker Bean Casserole AKA Sweet Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2001
My husband is a picky eater and he loved this. He said it was the best chili I had ever made. I did use maple syrup instead of molasses and I doubled the amount. I also used prepared mustard instead of dry. It was wonderful. Thank you for this recipe!!!!!! Chantelle in Alabama
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2001
Very easy, but a bit too sweet for me! The nieghbors really liked it though....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2001
We really enjoyed this recipe. I found it to be very flavourful and so simple to prepare. My husband and daughter hate bell peppers so i added corn and chopped onion instead. I served it with some baked cheese bread and a garden salad. The great thing about this dish is that it is very filling!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2002
This is a really great recipe! I add brown sugar to mine and it makes it even sweeter! I do omit the green pepper though! Even my three-year-old cleaned his plate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Valrico, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2002
absolutely fabulous!! i had to substitute onions for the peppers, and prepared mustard for the dry mustard but it was the most delicious thing i have eaten in a long time! my husband doesn't like sweet chilis, so i get to enjoy this all by myself. he doesn't know what he's missing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2002
thank you so much for this recipe! my whole family loved it! i will make this dish for family gatherings. thank you again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2002
Sorry, I was not impressed with this one. It is not thick enough to be a casserole but too thick to be a chili. In addition, not sure how crazy we are about the taste. Family was divided on it. Either way, won't make again. Thanks anyways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2002
I used onions instead of green peppers, syrup instead of molasses and prepared mustard. My family loved this...very similar to what my Mother-in-law use to make but she added 1 tsp. cinnamon. This is also great for scout camp cookouts. Just eat the chili on hamburger or hotdog buns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chapin, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
My family did not care for this recipe. I will not try it again - after an hour of cooking in the slow cooker, grease was floating on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2004
I thought this recipe was delicious. Definitely not for those who are looking for a spicy chili...it's very sweet. Doesn't make a lot so if you are feeding more than 4 or so I might double. We added some shredded cheddar on top of ours after we dished it out...Thanks for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States