Slow Cooker Bean Casserole AKA Sweet Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2001
My husband is a picky eater and he loved this. He said it was the best chili I had ever made. I did use maple syrup instead of molasses and I doubled the amount. I also used prepared mustard instead of dry. It was wonderful. Thank you for this recipe!!!!!! Chantelle in Alabama
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2001
Very easy, but a bit too sweet for me! The nieghbors really liked it though....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2001
We really enjoyed this recipe. I found it to be very flavourful and so simple to prepare. My husband and daughter hate bell peppers so i added corn and chopped onion instead. I served it with some baked cheese bread and a garden salad. The great thing about this dish is that it is very filling!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2002
This is a really great recipe! I add brown sugar to mine and it makes it even sweeter! I do omit the green pepper though! Even my three-year-old cleaned his plate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Valrico, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2002
absolutely fabulous!! i had to substitute onions for the peppers, and prepared mustard for the dry mustard but it was the most delicious thing i have eaten in a long time! my husband doesn't like sweet chilis, so i get to enjoy this all by myself. he doesn't know what he's missing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2002
thank you so much for this recipe! my whole family loved it! i will make this dish for family gatherings. thank you again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2002
Sorry, I was not impressed with this one. It is not thick enough to be a casserole but too thick to be a chili. In addition, not sure how crazy we are about the taste. Family was divided on it. Either way, won't make again. Thanks anyways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2002
I used onions instead of green peppers, syrup instead of molasses and prepared mustard. My family loved this...very similar to what my Mother-in-law use to make but she added 1 tsp. cinnamon. This is also great for scout camp cookouts. Just eat the chili on hamburger or hotdog buns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Williams Wilkerson
Home Town: Chapin, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
My family did not care for this recipe. I will not try it again - after an hour of cooking in the slow cooker, grease was floating on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2004
I thought this recipe was delicious. Definitely not for those who are looking for a spicy chili...it's very sweet. Doesn't make a lot so if you are feeding more than 4 or so I might double. We added some shredded cheddar on top of ours after we dished it out...Thanks for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States