Slow Cooker Bean Casserole AKA Sweet Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 12, 2008
This was really, really good. It took almost no time to prepare, and didn't require a long cooking time, either. I did add half of a large chopped onion when I sauteed the bacon and green peppers, then chopped up half a large jalapeno when I had everything combined, just because we like a little kick. The flavor was incredible. My husband just kept eating and eating, then finally said "what's IN this??" I've been trying to cut back on our grocery bill (who isn't), and this is a very tasty way to do that. Thanks for an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Brentwood, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
My family was split on this one, hubby and youngest daughter (12yrs.) did not care for this, myself and my oldest daughter(17 yrs.) liked it. It is a bit too sweet for our tastes as a main dish, as a side dish I think this would be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becki J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
Delicious! I used wet mustard instead of dry and crushed red pepper instead of chopped, green bell pepper. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
I made this recipe yesterday and it was delicious!!! I put it in the slow cooker by 9 am and left it on low until 4 pm and the whole house smelled so delicious it drove my family crazy! It was delicious. I doubled the recipe and even then there was just enough for a good sized serving for six of us. Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Campbell River, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
Very good baked bean recipe, try adding onion and some crushed pineapple. Suprisingly the pineapple works in this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
My mother in law used to make this as a side dish for family gatherings. It is a wonderful, hearty, comfort food dish. I have never used it as a main dish but great idea! I will now! Everyone always wants the recipe when I make it and it disappears at potlucks. Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
I make this all the time on the stove top but last thing i do is put it in a 9 x 13 cake pan and put biscuits on top and bake in oven until golden browned. Or I have used homemade corn bread on top instead of biscuits. Either way this is one recipe to keep around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss kelli
Reviewed: May 8, 2008
My mom made this for years, still does, we have always called it Rancho Beans, we use pork and beans drained, baked beans and kidney beans. This is so great to take to potluck dinners or parties. Everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moe N Peggysue Pardike

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alpena, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
My mother made this when I was growing up and it was always one of my favorites, although we never called it chili....it was just "beans and meat"! I make it on the stove top browning hamburger and onion together then add ketchup prepared mustard and pork and beans then let it simmer for about 20 minutes. Serve with a vegtable and bread and butter. Simple food but so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarlaFCRyan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
This was a pretty good, "Base recipe", or a recipe that's easily modified. As many others have done, I changed the bean to meat ratio a bit and added onion. I've cooked for almost 30 years, 10+ as a professional chef. In all this time I've never thought to add hamburger to baked beans. Simple idea that works well. But I find it odd that so many people, (Including the author) refer to this as, "Chili". It's not chili. There are countless variations on chili, from "Texas style", to, "Cincinnati style" and everything in between. But one thing they all have in common is that they contain some sort of chile pepper, be it fresh, dried, paste, liquid, or whatever. A green bell pepper doesn't really count for this one. There's a reason chili is called, "Chili"...It has to contain CHILE. It's funny how many people have either said that this is their favorite chili recipe or that it wasn't very good chili. It's NOT chili and it's NOT supposed to be! I recently tried a new chocolate cake recipe...It wasn't very good chili either...But my family thought it was the best chili they ever tasted! ;~} I did really like the, "Slow Cooker Bean Casserole though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States