Slow Cooker Bean Casserole AKA Sweet Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
This is similar to a recipe my mom used to make. She used a variety of beans in addition to baked beans (black, pinto, garbonzo, etc.). My changes are to use pre-cooked bacon and crumbled raw burger. I like to skip the stove-top step in crockpost recipes to save time and clean-up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Mansfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
A great comfort food. Brought back memories of childhood. Great easy recipe. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kbsteen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glasgow, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Freedom, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
Yum! I make this all the time for two reasons...1) Its delicious! and 2) Its requested for every cookout. My mom has made it forever and now I do. Instead of Molasses however, I use brown sugar. I also use 160z each of Kidney beans as well as the Brown beans. Also, I add about a cup of chopped onion. I used 1 lb of hamburg and a 1/2 lb of bacon. Oh & Ive never tried Ketchup! So easy to double for larger parties! I happen to be making it for a Labor Day party this weekend :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
this is really good. I used a 28oz can of baked beans, and skipped the bacon. I didn't have molases so I used a 1/4 cup of brown sugar. I was looking for a kid friendly chili and this seemed to do the trick as my 2 year old enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
This is very good. I have made it many times now and have decided to skip the slow cooker and just cook on the stove. Tastes just as good and don't have to plan ahead as much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
A little too sweet for our family, but easy to make. Will probably have again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by athomas21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eagle River, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
This recipe came out DELICIOUS! We added some chopped onion and garlic, but other than that we stuck to the recipe. It was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
Let me just say, this recipe is great! Very versatile. My husband is not a fan of chili so I tried this and it was well liked! I did add chili beans as well as the baked beans and I don't know why but I added some turkey ham because it just sounded good! Traded out green peppers for onions and topped it off with a little cheddar when serving-yummy! Thanks for a little something different!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by micsulli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
My family loved this! I made it with cornbread muffins and they ate everything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Not a chili, more a "special" baked bean dish that you can take to a pot luck. Will definitely make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States