Slow Cooker BBQ Flat Iron Steak Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
Great, tasty sandwich with lots of flavor. I recommend making the following adjustments to the recipe: season both sides of the steak with salt and pepper. Instead of using dried onion, I chopped a medium onion, minced four cloves of garlic and added 1/4 cup of molasses to 3 pounds of flat iron steak, allowing it to cook for six hours. The end result is a sweet, tangy bbq sauce with fork tender steak. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vincennes, Indiana, USA
Living In: Saint Augustine, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Yummy! First time I've tried a flat iron steak, and I followed the recipe exactly. So tender and delicious. Just the right bbq flavor too. I'll be making this often. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheb61

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
I love pantry booty recipes. this was so simple for it's delishness. gonna double it for leftovers next time!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennM

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Corona, California, USA
Living In: Queen Creek, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
AWESOME!! the best sandwich I ever made, easy and cheep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
This is just an OK recipe. I followed the recipe exactly even used the dried chopped onion, I know some people have opted to use fresh onion instead but I made these for my sons dinner tonight and my youngest son refuse to eat it! I found the steak dry, the taste I personally did not like. Just did not taste like BBQ to me, my kids thought it was ok. I don't think this is a recipe I will be using again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Could not find flat iron steak so I used a different kind of beef. Came out nice and tender, falling apart. I also seasoned the meat with flour, salt, and pepper and used thin sliced onion. This is not a recipe that I would say is awesome BUT it was so quick to put together (10 mins start to finish), one bowl and the crockpot to clean, and when I came home from work dinner was done. Could not get any easier. The coleslaw added a nice crunch. Used Sweet Restaurant Slaw from AR which is also very easy and served it with rolls and white rice. Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by norahS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
Ridiculously easy and ridiculously delicious! I used 1/4 cup chopped onion instead of the dried onion, and served for dinner with mashed potatoes, Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
My hubby proclaimed this a definite keeper. So that's it! I followed the recipe with the exception of the onions-- I used a half of a fresh chopped onion. I made Honey Wheat Sandwich Rolls and Sweet Restaurant Slaw from this site to round out our dinner. The only thing I'd do different is to double the recipe and freeze some if it doesn't all get eaten! And I would try cutting the whole onion in slices rather than chopping so it'd fit better on the sandwich. I myself would really like this over rice rather than a sandwich, but however it's made would be just fine! Very easy recipe except for the job of cutting off the fat from the meat beforehand. I lost a pound of the meat purchase just from that, and it takes a little cutting to get to the slowcooker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
This recipe fell short for us. While the meat was tender, there simply just wasn't enough flavor in the sauce for our tastes. I ended up adding bottled BBQ sauce which made it much more flavorful. Thanks for sharing this recipe for us to try, Linda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
This was very good. I did add a bit more molasses and a squirt of honey (my bf and I like our barbeque a little more on the sweet side), and I seasoned the beef with some spices. I also didn't have time to put it on high and then low, so I just kept it on low for about 6 hours, and it still turned out great. The only thing I would do differently next time would maybe be to add a tablespoon or so of cornstarch to thicken up the sauce a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Morehead, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches

Make spicy, slow-simmering Buffalo chicken for sandwiches.

Slow Cooker Salisbury Steak

See how to make simple, savory Salisbury steak in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States