Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
I liked it. Brought it to a football party and served it with hard crackers as in finger food. I did fine that I had to boil it down alittle to make it firm... I would do it again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nathan L Niemi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Very delicious and easy to make. I also followed someone's suggestion and cut the syrup to 1/4 cup. I wish I had made more sauce, wasn't quite juicy enough. We had BBQ sauce on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
I love the flavor of the homemade BBQ sauce! I followed the suggestion of cutting the syrup to 1/4 C and added 1/4C of Sweet Baby Ray, 1tsp of Liquid smoke, and a half of an onion. Cooked it on low for 9.5 hrs using 4frozen breasts. I thickened the sauce with 1 T of corn starch at the end. Also cut the onion into large rings so I could fish them out before shredding the chicken. Worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mtnsky

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
Very good - But the BBQ sauce recipe was a little too sweet and ketchupy tasting for me. Add any or all of the following if you like a more traditional tangy bite to your BBQ sauce: 2 Tablespoons of vinegar (apple cider is best), 1 teaspoon mustard powder, 1 Tablespoon black pepper. You can also add a bit more yellow mustard if you still want more bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
This was simply delicious. I did make a suggested change because of the amount of reviews stating how sweet the sauce was even after cutting the syrup down to 1/4 cup. So I only added a pinch of syrup. You could prob. cut the syrup out altogether but the sauce was just right....not too sweet, not too tangy. (although I really like tang.) I also added about 1/2 a chopped onion to the sauce. Also, it came apart in the crockpot so easily. The recipe came out wonderful. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
My whole family loves this recipe. My husband and kids enjoy it on a bun, but I like it on its own with coleslaw or Texas caviar. I'm not much of a planner, so I usually prepare it with frozen chicken breasts and it comes out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
Absolutely amazing. I forgot to include the maple syrup, but I used very sweet hot sauce. Great the next day too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
it was good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Great flavor! Based on other reviews I made the adjustment to the syrup by lowering it 1/4 cup and using 1/4 BBQ sauce. Next time I might try eliminating it altogether as it's definitely sweet enough even with the large amount of ketchup. Plus I'd like to make it a little lower calorie overall. I also added chopped onions which made a nice texture difference and flavor. Served them in wraps with Havarti cheese to my boys, used Jalapeno Havarti for my husband and me. They were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MeriB

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
I probably had this on low for about 8 hours or so . . .I put it together with frozen chicken breasts the night before, kept it all in the crock in the fridge, and had my husband put it in the slow cooker this morning, then switched it to warm and shredded the chicken in the crock when I got home. I tasted it and thought it needed something, but figured I'd wait for the bbq lover (AKA my husband) to taste it and see if he thought it needed anything. He thought it was good as is, so I left it alone. While mixing the sauce, I did double the sauce itself, halve the maple syrup, and added garlic powder and liquid smoke (probably about 3 tablespoons of the liquid smoke--no, I didn't mean to add that much, but it seems to have worked). I served it on Hawaiian rolls with cheese and hubs enjoyed it. This did have what seemed to me a lot of leftovers, but I'm giving some to a friend to try and we'll put the rest over baked potatoes sometime this week. I liked that this didn't use bottled bbq sauce as well--a great recipe when I'm out of it in the house and don't feel like picking up any. I also think cooking in the slow cooker makes the sauce a bit runny, but after shredding the chicken I thought it mixed together just fine. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Honey-Garlic Slow Cooker Chicken Thighs

Easy recipe for tender, sweet and savory chicken thighs.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States