Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
It was just "okay" but I think with work and a few simple changes, it could turn out better. I used Jack Daniels Hickory Brown Sugar BBQ Sauce and a 1/2 a cup of lite syrup...maybe that's where my sauce went wrong..My son loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
.The chicken was cooked perfectly, but the sauce was bland as bland can be. I will use this method for cooking chicken BBQ again, but I will not use the sauce. I had to put a ton of Tabasco on the sandwich to even get any flavor. I ended up eating all the leftovers because my son and husband were not interested after the first time trying it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
Just wanted to say that this is absolutely delicious!! I didn't have any bottled bbq sauce so I made my own. I did't have any bottled Italian dressing either, so I made the good seasons Italian dressing. I was a little worried about adding more brown sugar because my bbq sauce already had it in it and worcestershire sauce also, but I followed the recipe exactly and I also shredded the chicken and put it back in and let it cook for another hour or so and it was awesome! Thanks for a great recipe and I made Belles hamburger buns to put it on. Yum! I made macaroni salad and baked beans with this as sides. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coopersburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Way too salty...cut back on that and it'd be great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mblanzaco

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Turned out well. My husband loved it. Will probably have to cut the sweetness for the kids to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
Kids really liked it. But cooked in only few hours
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Living In: Manahawkin, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Made this to have yummy sandwiches on hand while wine tasting and it was such a hit! Spooned the goopey-BBQey-goodness into torta rolls while still hot and then wrapped in tin foil. After about 2hrs of wine tasting busted the sandwiches out and have to say, everyone was very satisfied. I wanted to give it 3.5 stars because it was really really good but I think next time around I may just nix the maple syrup all together and use a couple tablespoons of honey instead. The sauce was a little bland for me but I think after dressing it up a bit this will be bomb-dot-com.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
I served this to nearly 20 people tonight. I think the servings are off a bit because it barely fed everyone. (changed servings to 24) People commented overall that it was good but was a little on the sweet side and that the maple syrup was easy to taste. I left out cayenne pepper and hot sauce, as we were going to serve it to children but then they ate hot dogs! I think next time I'll had those spices to give it more of a zing. Also, this was very saucy, more than sloppy Joes. Overall a good, easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
I liked this recipe, but my husband thought it was just ok. I would make it again, but would maybe change up the sauce a little bit so hopefully my husband would get on board. It was definitely an easy recipe which is very nice to have sometimes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
I haven't fixed this recipe as is, but I do make a similar one. We add onion, butter and vinegar. We also use a whole chicken and boil it for 30 minutes to reduce the fat it the slow cooker. We eat it as is the first night and pick out the bones. Once it is cooled, I sift out the bones and freeze the leftovers for sandwiches another night. Thought this might help people who thought it was to sweet or runny. (Plus, I happen to like seeing peoples changes. They help me adjust recipes to my families tastes.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Living In: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches

Make spicy, slow-simmering Buffalo chicken for sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States