Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Made this to have yummy sandwiches on hand while wine tasting and it was such a hit! Spooned the goopey-BBQey-goodness into torta rolls while still hot and then wrapped in tin foil. After about 2hrs of wine tasting busted the sandwiches out and have to say, everyone was very satisfied. I wanted to give it 3.5 stars because it was really really good but I think next time around I may just nix the maple syrup all together and use a couple tablespoons of honey instead. The sauce was a little bland for me but I think after dressing it up a bit this will be bomb-dot-com.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
I served this to nearly 20 people tonight. I think the servings are off a bit because it barely fed everyone. (changed servings to 24) People commented overall that it was good but was a little on the sweet side and that the maple syrup was easy to taste. I left out cayenne pepper and hot sauce, as we were going to serve it to children but then they ate hot dogs! I think next time I'll had those spices to give it more of a zing. Also, this was very saucy, more than sloppy Joes. Overall a good, easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
I liked this recipe, but my husband thought it was just ok. I would make it again, but would maybe change up the sauce a little bit so hopefully my husband would get on board. It was definitely an easy recipe which is very nice to have sometimes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
I haven't fixed this recipe as is, but I do make a similar one. We add onion, butter and vinegar. We also use a whole chicken and boil it for 30 minutes to reduce the fat it the slow cooker. We eat it as is the first night and pick out the bones. Once it is cooled, I sift out the bones and freeze the leftovers for sandwiches another night. Thought this might help people who thought it was to sweet or runny. (Plus, I happen to like seeing peoples changes. They help me adjust recipes to my families tastes.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Living In: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
This really was excellent. I added thinly sliced onions just because I love onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
It's easy to make and yummy. I just cute down from maple syrup because i don't like too sweet foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gbv239
Reviewed: May 22, 2011
This was good! I did as the others said and only used1/4c of syrup and added 1/4c bbq sauce. We had leftovers and it was even better the second day. Easy, great summer recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Great recipe! I served on rolls with pickles. The leftovers were too sweet... if you don't eat it all, store the meat and sauce separately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
This was so easy and delicious. I omitted the hot sauce and cooked on high for 4 hours after returned to the crockpot for 45 minutes on low after shredding the chickin. Everyone loved it and I will absolutely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
I loved the flavor of this! Ours turned out tangy, so we were caught a little off guard but it really was delicious. Next time I won't cook the chicken as long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandaz13

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches

Make spicy, slow-simmering Buffalo chicken for sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States