Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
I probably had this on low for about 8 hours or so . . .I put it together with frozen chicken breasts the night before, kept it all in the crock in the fridge, and had my husband put it in the slow cooker this morning, then switched it to warm and shredded the chicken in the crock when I got home. I tasted it and thought it needed something, but figured I'd wait for the bbq lover (AKA my husband) to taste it and see if he thought it needed anything. He thought it was good as is, so I left it alone. While mixing the sauce, I did double the sauce itself, halve the maple syrup, and added garlic powder and liquid smoke (probably about 3 tablespoons of the liquid smoke--no, I didn't mean to add that much, but it seems to have worked). I served it on Hawaiian rolls with cheese and hubs enjoyed it. This did have what seemed to me a lot of leftovers, but I'm giving some to a friend to try and we'll put the rest over baked potatoes sometime this week. I liked that this didn't use bottled bbq sauce as well--a great recipe when I'm out of it in the house and don't feel like picking up any. I also think cooking in the slow cooker makes the sauce a bit runny, but after shredding the chicken I thought it mixed together just fine. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
This was delicious. I too added 1 cup of bbq sauce to offset the sweetness, and turned it up to high. It was done in just over 3 hours. It's not a tough cut of meat to begin with, so it doesn't really need all that time to simmer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth Murdock

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by crf0610
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
I didnt really like the flavor too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
Not great. Way too sweet and not tangy enough for me. The sauce seems all wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
I loved this recipe and even the most picky eater of the house enjoyed it. I took tips from other readers to skip the maple syrup and to use 1/4 cup brown sugar, 3/4 cup barbecue sauce (Sweet Baby Ray's Honey Chipotle) a medium onion finely chopped, 2 cloves of garlic, and Louisiana Hot Sauce to taste. Cooking my thawed chix for 3.5 hours on high kept it moist and tender. I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
This was pretty good and so easy to make. I did make changes to the bbq sauce as I felt it was too sweet for my taste. I decreased the maple syrup by quite a bit, increased the worcestershire and added malt vinegar. Overall not bad. The kids enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jcfrk01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Is is AMAZING and the definite "secrete" ingredient is truly the Sweet Baby Ray 's BBQ Sauce is what completes the dish and makes it a one of a kind. I'd recommend this to anyone who loves BBQ chicken dishes-- KUDOS on a terrific recipe!!! We loved this one ????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Driggers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Living In: Palm Bay, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
I could not follow this recipe to a T, because I did not have enough maple syrup. I added a little bit of brown sugar and some store bought sweet barbecue sauce. The main thing I did not like about this recipe is that it tasted way too salty for me... Still fairly good, but I will look for another similar recipe to tweak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candleraymond

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Logan, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rockbridge, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
Amazing! Great as-is, but also delicious and not so sweet with this quick change: replace half of the maple syrup (1/4 cup) with Sweet Baby Ray's Hickory and Brown Sugar BBQ Sauce. It adds a great smoky flavor which really complements the rest of the sauce. I'd eat this every other night if I could :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Britt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
the whole family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches

Make spicy, slow-simmering Buffalo chicken for sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States