Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
This was simply delicious. I did make a suggested change because of the amount of reviews stating how sweet the sauce was even after cutting the syrup down to 1/4 cup. So I only added a pinch of syrup. You could prob. cut the syrup out altogether but the sauce was just right....not too sweet, not too tangy. (although I really like tang.) I also added about 1/2 a chopped onion to the sauce. The recipe came out wonderful. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
My whole family loves this recipe. My husband and kids enjoy it on a bun, but I like it on its own with coleslaw or Texas caviar. I'm not much of a planner, so I usually prepare it with frozen chicken breasts and it comes out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
Absolutely amazing. I forgot to include the maple syrup, but I used very sweet hot sauce. Great the next day too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
it was good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Great flavor! Based on other reviews I made the adjustment to the syrup by lowering it 1/4 cup and using 1/4 BBQ sauce. Next time I might try eliminating it altogether as it's definitely sweet enough even with the large amount of ketchup. Plus I'd like to make it a little lower calorie overall. I also added chopped onions which made a nice texture difference and flavor. Served them in wraps with Havarti cheese to my boys, used Jalapeno Havarti for my husband and me. They were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MeriB

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
I probably had this on low for about 8 hours or so . . .I put it together with frozen chicken breasts the night before, kept it all in the crock in the fridge, and had my husband put it in the slow cooker this morning, then switched it to warm and shredded the chicken in the crock when I got home. I tasted it and thought it needed something, but figured I'd wait for the bbq lover (AKA my husband) to taste it and see if he thought it needed anything. He thought it was good as is, so I left it alone. While mixing the sauce, I did double the sauce itself, halve the maple syrup, and added garlic powder and liquid smoke (probably about 3 tablespoons of the liquid smoke--no, I didn't mean to add that much, but it seems to have worked). I served it on Hawaiian rolls with cheese and hubs enjoyed it. This did have what seemed to me a lot of leftovers, but I'm giving some to a friend to try and we'll put the rest over baked potatoes sometime this week. I liked that this didn't use bottled bbq sauce as well--a great recipe when I'm out of it in the house and don't feel like picking up any. I also think cooking in the slow cooker makes the sauce a bit runny, but after shredding the chicken I thought it mixed together just fine. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
This was delicious. I too added 1 cup of bbq sauce to offset the sweetness, and turned it up to high. It was done in just over 3 hours. It's not a tough cut of meat to begin with, so it doesn't really need all that time to simmer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth Murdock

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by crf0610
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
I didnt really like the flavor too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
Not great. Way too sweet and not tangy enough for me. The sauce seems all wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches

Make spicy, slow-simmering Buffalo chicken for sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States