Slow Cooker Barbequed Pork for Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
I tasted a bit of the slow-cooked pork before I added the store-bought barbeque sauce that we had on hand, and it was delicious! I loved the coffee flavor, and the red pepper gave it some extra tang while the bourbon gave it a bit of a kick! Once I added the barbeque sauce at the end and cooked it for another 2 hours, it was magical! I'd give this recipe a 6 if I could!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
This was good barbecued pork! I did everything as stated except I left out the whisky. I used Sweet Baby Rays Original sauce (our favorite) and served this on potato rolls with coleslaw on the bun. I don't think you should dump out all of the cooking liquid, though. My meat was a bit dry upon shredding so I added some more beef stock with the BBQ Sauce. That seemed to fix the problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2008
Rewrote the last step to indicate that the liquid is discarded after cooking the roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
I am a proficient Cajun cook, but must have misunderstood this recipe. Even before I began making this recipe, I was wondering why on earth you would need 6 cups of cooking liquid to cook a small roast in a slow cooker. The recipe never did say what to do with that liquid after the pork roast was cooked - were you supposed to discard it or add it back into the pot? I discarded most (5 cups) of it, and felt like I wasted good beef stock and coffee, but otherwise we would have had barbecued pulled pork soup. In the end, the pork tasted fine, like shreddd pork in barbecue sauce, but nothing out of this world. I'm sure there's another pulled pork recipe out there that will suit my tastes more. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
Husband just loved it!!! I used jarred minced garlic and left it cook on low for 6 and 1/2 hours. It was very easy to pull apart. I reserved 1/2 cup of the liquid and added 1 tsp. of liquid smoke before adding the bottle BBQ sauce. After having it on low for two hours it was very juicy. Next time I will definitely make homemade BBQ sauce for these!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Nandabear
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
We thought this turned out great! I was in a hurry so I improvised and instead of dicing the onion I used 1 pkg. of Lipton Onion soup, in addition, I used 1 can of Campbell's French Onion soup with the remaining part of the beef broth. I also used Sweet Baby Ray's. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
This recipe was great! I made it for the Superbowl. I didn't have any Worcestershire and I used a 4.5 lb piece of bone-in pork shoulder. I also reduced the cooking time by putting the cooker on high for about three hours. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly. When I served it, I topped the sandwiches with cole slaw to make it Memphis style. It was just like you would get in a BBQ restaurant. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manassas, Virginia, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
Read all the reviews on this recipe and my husband was apprehensive about the coffee. I told him I go by the reviews and to "wait and taste"! Followed the recipe, SAVING about a cup of the excess broth and adding some in with the bottled BBQ sauce! Huge success for company, absolutely delicious, distinctive taste, alot went back for seconds and gave the recipe out to several people along with the website! The next day heated up the leftovers and my picky-eater son asked me to "keep makin' this mom!" FAST! EASY! DEFINATE PLEASER! Served it with my Scalloped Pineapple side dish which is also a popular recipe requester! Adding to this site today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prellsy
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
A comment about the leftover broth. I know I wrote "discard" but you really don't have to! I've used the broth to make beef stew (you'll need to balance it with some red wine), french onion soup, etc. I simply meant to remove it from the crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
Great taste and a big hit with a large crowd. I expected lots of leftovers and had very little! I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States