Slow Cooker Barbequed Pork for Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
I tasted a bit of the slow-cooked pork before I added the store-bought barbeque sauce that we had on hand, and it was delicious! I loved the coffee flavor, and the red pepper gave it some extra tang while the bourbon gave it a bit of a kick! Once I added the barbeque sauce at the end and cooked it for another 2 hours, it was magical! I'd give this recipe a 6 if I could!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
This recipe kicked! It tasted delicious with the coffee flavor. The bourbon and red pepper were just icing on the cake so to speak. If you have the time while this amazing recipe is slow cooking make some homemade BBQ sauce!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
I am a proficient Cajun cook, but must have misunderstood this recipe. Even before I began making this recipe, I was wondering why on earth you would need 6 cups of cooking liquid to cook a small roast in a slow cooker. The recipe never did say what to do with that liquid after the pork roast was cooked - were you supposed to discard it or add it back into the pot? I discarded most (5 cups) of it, and felt like I wasted good beef stock and coffee, but otherwise we would have had barbecued pulled pork soup. In the end, the pork tasted fine, like shreddd pork in barbecue sauce, but nothing out of this world. I'm sure there's another pulled pork recipe out there that will suit my tastes more. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
Rewrote the last step to indicate that the liquid is discarded after cooking the roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
This was good barbecued pork! I did everything as stated except I left out the whisky. I used Sweet Baby Rays Original sauce (our favorite) and served this on potato rolls with coleslaw on the bun. I don't think you should dump out all of the cooking liquid, though. My meat was a bit dry upon shredding so I added some more beef stock with the BBQ Sauce. That seemed to fix the problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
Great recipe! I had cooked pork in the freezer so I didn't have to cook it as long. I didn't use the water or whiskey from the recipe. Sweet Baby Ray's original sauce makes it delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
This got the ultimate test, my 15-year-old nephew who adores barbeque! I didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Steelville, Missouri, USA
Living In: Charleston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nandabear
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
We thought this turned out great! I was in a hurry so I improvised and instead of dicing the onion I used 1 pkg. of Lipton Onion soup, in addition, I used 1 can of Campbell's French Onion soup with the remaining part of the beef broth. I also used Sweet Baby Ray's. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
This was an excellent recipe. I used a sirloin roast that was pretty lean & it was very tender and tasty. I started it in the a.m. on New Year's Day & left it on for about 6 hours, then shredded it & left it in the barbeque sauce for about 1 hour. I put some bannana peppers on my sandwich for some spice & it was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANER60

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
This recipe was awesome, i did not have the worcestshire sauce but i used steak marinade instead. I omitted the water. I also took another's advice not to dump all liquid before adding bbq sauce, it came out a little messy like sloppy joes but all was great. Next time i may leave only 1/2 cup of liquid. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States