Slow Cooker Barbeque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
This was fabulous!! I took pictures but the download is not working. The smell throughout my whole house was magnificent. My daughter and her friend LOVED the pork. As recommended in another review I marinated the pork in Dr.Pepper and an entire bottle of Barbecue sauce. I used Garland Jack's Six Sweet Brown Sugar Barbecue sauce. This meal was heavenly and will be made again many times in our house. FANTASTIC!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RockstarSue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Sandstone, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I used a bone in roast and rubbed it with a BBQ dry rub. I added some BBQ sauce . When it was done, I removed the roast and shredded it, skimmed the fat off the sauce in the crock pot and then returned the shredded beef to the crock pot and added more BBQ sauce to reach my desired consistency. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris Flynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
I've made this as written a bunch of times & it's always comes out great. I use Weber BBQ sauce because it's one of the few sauces that doesn't contain HFCS. Many reviewers mentioned throwing out the sauce due to fattiness then adding a new jar of sauce.... that seems wasteful. While I shred the beef, I put the sauce through a fat separator then pour back into the pot. Works for us. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snowflake
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
SO GOOD especially with "Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce by Kevin". I took advice from others and put chunks of onion for flavor in the crock pot so I could separate it from the meat after cooking. I only put about 1 cup of BBQ sauce while cooking, drained the juice, removed the onion, shredded the meat and then put it back in the crock pot with the remaining BBQ sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
I used a round of pork and Sweet Baby Ray's BBQ sauce. I didn't have onions so I used onion soup mix and it came out SO GOOD! It wasn't greasy & maybe next time I will try it with beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by forrestang
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
This was just ok. I used the Bourboun-Whiskey BBQ Sauce from this site. The sauce was delicious, but the meat was just ok. I used a round-eye roast as suggested. Also, I didn't shred my beef as I wanted bigger slices. It could have been something I did wrong, but I just wasn't crazy about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
I have a family of 3 (2 adults, 1 child) so I used 1 lb of a leaner chuck roast and reduced the cooking time to about 4 hours before I pulled it by hand and put it back in the slow cooker for another hour. I also used fresh organic sweet onions and fresh organic minced garlic. This turned out to be amazing! Made great leftovers on toasted bread the next day as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
This is unreal! I've made this several times with homemade BBQ sauce. I used the "Nana's Barbeque Sauce" from this site, which was a simple, mainly ketchup based sauce. Serve on buns with a little cornbread on the side. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Cadigan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Turned out really lovely. I used chuck roast and seasoned it with steak seasoning, then browned it first. I always brown meat, no matter what the recipe says. It caramelises and does something yummy with the sugars in the meat, or whatever! Anyway, I did that, then sautéed some sliced onions and garlic. I used a local (Qatari) brand of barbecue sauce, but about 1/3 of a bottle, which was more than enough. I cooked it for about 6 hours on medium heat. The entire family loved it!! There were no left-overs. Even the three-year old was hunting around for seconds. I served this with mayonnaise scones (what you americans call biscuits) and tinned sweetcorn. It all went down fantastically and is definitely going to be on my repeat list. I also used another poster's tip (thank you) about putting dishcloth under the lid of the slow cooker to soak up excess moisture as I find slow cooking always springs too much water. A real winner!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
I used a English Cut Pot Roast, trimmed of all exterior fat. The sauce was Sweet Baby Ray's original. Followed recipe as written but I put an old kitchen towel between the top of the slow cooker and the lid. Rotated towel a couple times, draping damp part back on the glass top. This kept the sauce from getting too thin and meat shredded easily. Try it if your cooker tends to make too much liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Portage, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 507) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Barbeque

See how to make super-easy, melt-in-the-mouth BBQ beef.

Slow Cooker Barbeque Ribs

See how to make tender, tangy ribs in your slow cooker.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States