Slow Cooker Barbeque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2004
I make this all the time but keep meaning to rate this so here goes. I rate this a 5 with my alterations, otherwise it is a 4. I usually use a 4-5# roast, I use the recipe as listed plus I place a sliced onion on top. After this has cooked 6 - 8 hours or so, I take it out, drain the juice out, shred the beef and return to the crock pot. I then add another 18 oz of barbecue sauce and simmer it until whenever we are ready to eat, usually another one to three hours. Sometimes I buy the economy 32 oz of barbecue sauce and use 1/2 in the beginning and 1/2 after shredding. I have had best results with KC Masterpiece. I have one son that likes Sweet Baby Ray's but that is a bit sweet for most people's tastes. For work functions I cook this in the crock pot all day, come home, drain and shred, place meat in fridge. Next morning I add the meat plus the extra jar of barbecue sauce, take to work and put in slow cooker on low and it is served for lunch approximately 4 hours later. It gets RAVE reviews! This is highly requested and so simple! I can usually find roasts on sale for 1.79/lb plus so it is economical when feeing large crowds. Try this, I don't think you will be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
444 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2004
This recipe, was a HUGE hit with everone (60 ppl) at my party recently, and was the most requested recipe of all time for me. For absolute success, I have two tips: USE EYE ROUND ROAST! It's leaness allows the meat to slow cook for 8 hours without diluting the BBQ sauce with liquids from fat. After the meat is cooked and cooled, slice it thin and return it to the crockpot on low. I used (4) 4 lb roasts cut in half. (Remember, 60 people and 4 crockpots!). Half way through cooking time, I turned the sections over to allow them to cook evenly in the sauce. Second, if you haven't spotted the Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce recipe submitted by Kevin on this site yet, you should. It's better than great. This combination made the dish to die for. All I could hear in the crowd was "the barbeque beef is sooooo good". If you really want your cooking to please, this combo does the job. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
342 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
I used pork tenderloin instead of chuck roast. I've used chuck roast for these types of recipes in the past and thought they were too fatty. You end up having to pick out the pieces of fat and a lot of it cooks off into the sauce making it greasy. I believe this is why a lot of reviewers felt they needed to replace the cooking sauce. With the pork tenderloin there is almost no fat at all and the meat comes out super tender and easy to shred. You can put it right back into the bbq sauce it cooked in which adds additional flavor. No need to drain. Perfect and easy! Mine was tender enough to shred easily after 8 hours on low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
310 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2002
So easy, and if you follow other reviewers' tips (drain fat and a lot of the juice towards end of cooking time, add new bbq sauce to the shredded meat, then finish cooking for the last hour or half-hour), you'll have a great meal with little effort. You can use pork or beef and vary the kinds of bbq sauce for variety. Try one of the mustard-based sauces -- yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2006
We make this at least every two weeks, because its delicious and so easy. It makes the whole house smell good. If you live in or near Texas, I'd definitely recommend Stubb's Barbecue Sauce. I put half of a bottle in it all day.. then I pour most of this down the sink because there's alot of grease after it cooks all day. Then I shred it and pour the other half of the bottle on it at the end. Its delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2003
I would give this more than 5 stars if I could! It is THE BEST recipe ever! Very easy and so delicious! I used about 4lbs of brisket and onion soup mix along with the bbq sauce and garlic salt. I live in the UK and it's hard to buy decent bbq sauce but I found some called New Orleans Smokey Blues, and it's fan-tab-u-lous! I put it all in the slow cooker this morning before work and the house smelled so good when I got home! I'm actually still cooking it cause my husband wont be home until late. It's been in the cooker now for 13 hours and it seems the longer I leave it in, the better it gets! (I've been picking it at all evening!) Thank you so much for an excellent recipe that, if it weren't for my diet, I'd make ALL the time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
TRY THIS! I bought a 3.5lb chuck roast, put it in the crockpot and seasoned with the onion and garlic powder and pepper as the recipe states. THEN, I poured Dr. Pepper (really!) over the roast until it was covered completely. I then added a generous amount of salt to the liquid. The combination of the salt and Dr. Pepper really tenderizes the meat. Cook on low for 8 hours WITHOUT any BBQ sauce. Once the 8 hours is up, the meat literally falls apart on it's own! I discard all of the liquid mixture and shred the beef. Then, I add my BBQ sauce and mix together and leave the cooker on warm until it is ready to be served. It is phenomenal-a must try! I made my own BBQ sauce which is great too! Recipe for that follows: 1/2 tsp oil, 1/2 onion(minced), 1 clove garlic (minced),1/2C ketchup, 2 Tbsp worcestershire, 2Tbsp apple cider vinegar, 1/8 cayenne pepper, 1/2 cup Dr Pepper, brown sugar (if desired). Heat oil in pan on medium. Sautee onion and garlic til soft & fragrant then add rest of the ingredients. Simmer for about 45 minutes (sometimes longer) until sauce thickens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2002
my boyfried loved this recipe!! i added real onions and minced garlic. I served it on onion rolls with cole slaw and provolone cheese! yummm! It was so easy...will make again soon!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2003
Superb! My husband took the leftovers to work, heated it up in a bowl in the microwave and spooned it onto some crusty sub buns- he said the guys at work just freaked. The easiest, tastiest thing in the world. I usually add my spices near the end; I find that the long cooking time destroys especially the garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meatball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Caledonia, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2002
Easiest recipe I have tried here! I was randomly looking for something for my slow cooker with ingredients I had on hand,,and came to this one. I actually used two thick, FROZEN steaks, about 10 oz of bbq sauce and the spices. My honey,,,(who never eats leftovers!) requested this until it was gone for three days! I am totally amazed! Too easy! Thanks Brandy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 501) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Barbeque

See how to make super-easy, melt-in-the-mouth BBQ beef.

Slow Cooker Barbeque Ribs

See how to make tender, tangy ribs in your slow cooker.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States