Slow Cooker Barbeque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
I used a round of pork and Sweet Baby Ray's BBQ sauce. I didn't have onions so I used onion soup mix and it came out SO GOOD! It wasn't greasy & maybe next time I will try it with beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by forrestang
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
This was just ok. I used the Bourboun-Whiskey BBQ Sauce from this site. The sauce was delicious, but the meat was just ok. I used a round-eye roast as suggested. Also, I didn't shred my beef as I wanted bigger slices. It could have been something I did wrong, but I just wasn't crazy about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
I have a family of 3 (2 adults, 1 child) so I used 1 lb of a leaner chuck roast and reduced the cooking time to about 4 hours before I pulled it by hand and put it back in the slow cooker for another hour. I also used fresh organic sweet onions and fresh organic minced garlic. This turned out to be amazing! Made great leftovers on toasted bread the next day as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
This is unreal! I've made this several times with homemade BBQ sauce. I used the "Nana's Barbeque Sauce" from this site, which was a simple, mainly ketchup based sauce. Serve on buns with a little cornbread on the side. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Turned out really lovely. I used chuck roast and seasoned it with steak seasoning, then browned it first. I always brown meat, no matter what the recipe says. It caramelises and does something yummy with the sugars in the meat, or whatever! Anyway, I did that, then sautéed some sliced onions and garlic. I used a local (Qatari) brand of barbecue sauce, but about 1/3 of a bottle, which was more than enough. I cooked it for about 6 hours on medium heat. The entire family loved it!! There were no left-overs. Even the three-year old was hunting around for seconds. I served this with mayonnaise scones (what you americans call biscuits) and tinned sweetcorn. It all went down fantastically and is definitely going to be on my repeat list. I also used another poster's tip (thank you) about putting dishcloth under the lid of the slow cooker to soak up excess moisture as I find slow cooking always springs too much water. A real winner!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
I used a English Cut Pot Roast, trimmed of all exterior fat. The sauce was Sweet Baby Ray's original. Followed recipe as written but I put an old kitchen towel between the top of the slow cooker and the lid. Rotated towel a couple times, draping damp part back on the glass top. This kept the sauce from getting too thin and meat shredded easily. Try it if your cooker tends to make too much liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Portage, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
IMHO, beef or pork should be seared a bit before cooking in a crock pot. It adds a nice crust to the meat, and makes it more like real outdoor bbq. Not cooked, SEARED, as in an iron skillet, or under the broiler. Not a bad idea to marinate it overnight before crocking too. We do this with pot roast, or bbq. Sear chuck in a pan, and we sear ribs and pork roast under the broiler. Makes such a difference. Only takes a couple more minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
I make this but use very lean beef stew...it shreds and falls apart when done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
I make this with pork sirloin roast. It's always a hit. I think I'll try this version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian Vent

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
This reminded us that we don't like chicken cooked in the crockpot, it's greasy no matter what you do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Canady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fruitland Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 503) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Barbeque

See how to make super-easy, melt-in-the-mouth BBQ beef.

Slow Cooker Barbeque Ribs

See how to make tender, tangy ribs in your slow cooker.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States