Slow-Cooker Barbecue Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Was very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginger Seavey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
What I love about allrecipes is that you can always count on thousands of people who have tried the recipe, made little tweaks, and written about those tweaks in their reviews. I feel it helps make a very good recipe even better. Usually I always follow a recipe first as written, then the next time I make changes. However, upon seeing the many reviewers who indicated it was too much ketchup taste, I decided to go with the reviewers who substituted their favorite BBQ sauce for the ketchup. I subbed 2 cups of Stubb's original bbq sauce for the ketchup, and kept everything else the same. Cooked in the oven for 30 minutes as indicated (I did cover them with foil to help expedite the release of the fat). Then transferred to the crockpot and poured sauce mixture on top. In my crockpot it did cook for 5 hours on low and they were tender at that point, but not falling apart from the bone. To serve I poured all the sauce back into a medium saucepan, and let it reduce to help thicken it for about 20 minutes. I served the sauce in a gravy boat for those who like their ribs extra saucy. The combination of bbq sauce, chili sauce, and the remaining sauce ingredients was spot on: not overly sweet, not overly vinegary, just right for us. This will be my "go to" recipe when making BBQ ribs in a crockpot. Thank you to all the recipe testers and the original recipe poster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
I made 5 racks of baby backs in two crock pots today. Everyone raved about them. I didn't use the sauce recipe, no, I used MUMBO SAUCE! google it. We live outside Chicago and this sauce comes from an old local company. Back off DC!! I took the time to roast them in the oven, then packed them with sauce in the crock pots and put them in the fridge overnight. I cooked them 7 hours in the crock pot on low. Then, I bathed them in more Mumbo and caramelized it over a hot charcoal grill. That really made them perfect. We ate all of the ribs and I converted all our guests to MUMBO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookingABCs
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
This recipe was scrumptious and easy. I followed suggestions of other reviewers of using my favorite BBQ sauce and they turned out great. The meat fell of the bones! Wow talk about finger licking good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
I've never had success with ribs...until now. This was, hands down the tastiest, easiest recipe I've found for pork. I initially was going to use store bought bbq sauce, but followed the directions (well a bit extra hot sauce) and it was absolutely delish! Tender, flavorful and a huge hit with my picky eater husband. In fact it will be what's on the menu for his birthday celebration this weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: North Yarmouth, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
I made this yesterday for super and they turned out great. The meat was falling off the bones and the sauce WOW! My boyfriend says they were almost like the ones at the restaurant Baton Rouge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Delicious and fell off the bone but was a little too sweet for my taste. I prefer more spice so I will cut the brown sugar in half and add some red pepper flakes or cajun seasoning next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
As written, this is just average as far as the taste of the sauce. The ribs themselves were tender and wonderful. But to make this the five star recipe that most are rating it (even though they admit in their reviews that they rated it so high AFTER making the following change) then just substitute your favorite BBQ sauce for the ketchup sauce called for in the recipe. That one simple change truly does make this a five star recipe and one that you are sure to make again and again! Also, I pulled them out of the crock pot after four hours on low and they were perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
The cooking method is good, though cook time is too long. Mine were done at about 4 hours in the crock pot, thankfully I was home to notice and turned it to warm till dinner time. Sauce could use some work. Not as good as ribs on the smoker but I will definitely use this method again when I need an easy crock pot meal the whole family will eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Webster City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
So good. Easy to tweak for my family's taste. Ribs were so tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,251) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Hoisin Barbecue Pork Ribs

A simple, Asian-inspired marinade, dry rub, and basting sauce for pork ribs.

Barbecue Ribs

See how to make sweet, spicy spareribs with a wee kick of rum.

Slow Cooker Baby Back Ribs

Have lip-smacking, saucy ribs ready just minutes after you get home from work.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States