Slow Cooker Barbecue Goose Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
I love this recipe. I hunt geese all the time. I usually made them into jerky. I wanted to give sandwiches a try. These were so good that I even started taking left overs to work. The left over goose barbecue does not taste wild after a couple days in the fridge. I would recommend from a hunter who hunts geese all year round.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
Living in Mexico , we don't get much goose, but we have tons o' turkey. The turkey here is a little tougher and a bit gamier than it's American cousin, so I tried this using turkey drums instead of goose breast. My wife doesn't care for Mexican turkey, but this she licked the plate clean. I make my own BBQ sauce, and used that also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoghat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Zacatecas, Zacatecas, Mexico
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
very good, very juicy,my husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Made this lastnight for the guys after they had a great day of goose hunting. WOW it was delicous!!! I did make a few small changes. I used four single goose breasts (I didn't know whether or not the recipe called for entire breasts or single breasts).Doubled all the ingredients except for the chicken broth, only did 3 cups of that so it wasn't too much liquid. Cooked on low for 8 hours. Wow I'm still in shock at how good it was, I had never had goose before. WILL MAKE AGAIN!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
One word - WOW!!! My husband and son are avid waterfowl hunters so I have plenty of goose in my freezer. This is fantastic! I bought a bottle of raspberry chipotle sauce and it goes great with this instead of bbq sauce. Definitely a new favorite at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I used this recipe on some fresh goose breast last week and it was amazing! I'm not a big fan of goose, but this tasted just like pulled pork/beef. I followed the recipe exactly and used goose that had been shot and breasted the day before and soaked in salted water overnight. I picked a sweet brown sugar bbq sauce to use and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Milton, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
This BBQoose is DA BOMB!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Wow! Thanks for sharing! My husband has friends who regularly share their duck and/or goose breasts with us after their hunting trips. Not being a hunting family ourselves they "gamey" flavor was too strong for the kids and sometimes even for us. I made this for my husband, and now we all are finding ourselves enjoying goose breast. I skipped the sauteing step, as the onions will still caramelize when cooked this long in a crock pot. I also threw all the breasts in to cook in one large batch. I cooked about 6 goose breasts and 10 duck breasts together ( I used about 6 onions total), and threw in 6 heads of garlic (yes, heads not cloves) with the tops cut off. Since the garlic was not minced, but whole it gave it a mellow garlic flavor instead of harsh / bitter. I used kosher salt , pepper, and water in lieu of the broth since I find the salt in broth gets too intense after cooking that long. I cooked on high for about 9 hours and low for another 1 1/2 since I had so much meat (the bones had already been removed during the butchering process). I removed the meat to a cutting board to shred. The duck was the consistency of pulled pork, so it was cooked to perfection. The goose was the texture of properly cooked beef brisket, so tender but not "fork tender". Once shredded, I put all the meat in a pan with a couple of spoonfuls of the drippings and then the bbq sauce ( drippings keeps the bbq sauce from being too thick without making it runny). Great meat we love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Diamond Bar, California, USA
Living In: Gardnerville, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
i came across this earlier in the week.i was like rest very skeptical being goose is so gamey tasteing. BUT...i made this today for eve meal tomorrow and it tastes so good. tastes just like roast beef.very good!! i am making another one for my parent's later in the week.now i need to have my brother go hunting and give me more geese.so good,so easy. try this,you won't even know it's a canadian goose.AMZAING!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
This recipe was unbelievable!!!! If I didn't tell anyone it was goose, they would have thought it was roast beef. Unreal!!! So tender and not gamey at all. Highly recommend this to anyone looking for a new goose recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Ground Beef Barbecue

See how to make tangy ground beef barbeque in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches

Make spicy, slow-simmering Buffalo chicken for sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States