Slow Cooker Balsamic Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
I made this this morning. It was delicious! I enlarged the recipe in order to feed more people and to have leftovers! I believe my ratio of chicken to all the other ingredients was pretty high though. (Turned out to be more like a balsamic shredded chicken recipe). Also I had to do some substitutions due to what I had on hand. I used lots of bunching onion with some light green parts included (instead of regular onion). Used diced and stewed tomatoes instead of crushed, also I didn't have thyme so I used an Italian seasoning along with the basil and oregano. And due to the lack of onion I added 2 anehiem (garden fresh and not that hot) to bulk it up. Had it on for 8 hours but on high (I thought it was on low!) But thankfully the chicken was still moist and render enough Tk be easily shredded with a ladle...will definitely try again but with the exact ingredients as instructed. Should be even better with lots of onion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
I made this last night and it was the most rich tasting dish exploding with flavor. The only things I changed was I did use stewed tomatoes instead of crushed, added the tomato paste, used thighs instead of breast, added some diced sweet peppers, and at the end thickened with veggie broth and cornstarch. It was AMAZING and I will definitely be making this again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RhondaLee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Pretty good. Yes, a tad dry even on low for 4 hours and starting with frozen chicken breasts. Still rather tasty. I wasn't a fan of how little the sauce covered when I put it in (although I did use canned chopped tomatoes--don't have crushed) so I added a full can of paste, some olives and mushrooms. I think the olives jacked up the flavor--which if you like olives is a good thing. If you don't like olives, not so much. My husband complained it tasted like olive brine--he's not an olive fan, so I guess I have to add those just to my portion if I make this again. I did cut down the balsamic vinegar a bit since there were complaints it was sweet. However, I don't think it was very sweet, just tangy. It was rather liquidy so I added about 1/2 a package of dry pasta when the chicken was cooked and mixed it in. It was cooked and ready to serve within an hour and soaked up all of the juices. All in all, not bad, but maybe a few more adjustments would make some people happier, and unfortunately I don't think this is a good recipe if you are away from home more than a couple of hours at a time, as it does appear to need someone to keep watch on it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Very good, I followed other people's tips and added pasta because I had a lot of liquid in the pot. I'm definitely making this again! Also I want to experiment this recipe using pork chops or steak too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
We used chicken legs (bc that's what I had & dark meat tends to to better in the crock). I also used fresh basil & rosemary, plus an Italian spice mix. Also used Italian stewed tomatoes. Came out delish! Will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
I did not have just canned tomatoes so I used the Rotel tomatoes with green chilies. WOW. Great taste. My kitchen smells delicious. There is a warmth that might not have been present if the chilies were not used, but the taste it great. I also used chicken tenders so only cooked it for 3 hours and it was plenty of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMMAMAX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mooresville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
Not terrible, but I probably won't make this again. It turned out kind of dry and not very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
What a nice easy way to make chicken. The balsamic is a great touch. Used 1 can crushed, 1 can diced and 6 breasts. Shredded the chicken when done and put it over brown rice. Yummy! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claire

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willow Springs, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
I cooked this for my family and thought it turned out quite nicely. I took another reviewer's advice and mixed everything together before pouring it over the chicken. I cooked split boneless breasts on low and they were done in 2-1/2 hours. It's an easy recipe to follow and everyone had high compliments for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hutchlm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
4.5 stars! Moist, tangy chicken with a lovely thin gravy just perfect for noodles or rice. I prepped this dish in my slow cooker liner the night before and refrigerated. In the a.m. I used a whole chicken instead of 4 breasts and put some lemon halves in the cavity along with the garlic. I poured tomatoes on before turning on slow cooker. As other reviewers have noted, the tomatoes that stayed on top of the chicken retained a strong tomato flavor as opposed to mixing in with the other ingredients. Next time around I would mix tomatoes with the other ingredients and then would top with the onions. I cooked for 8 hours on low and it was perfect - very forgiving of time differences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States