Slow Cooker Baked Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Easy to make but needed quite a long time in the crockpot to cook all the way through. Some of mine were cold when I served them. I'd use an oven as my first preference unless it's the middle of summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
These turn out perfect every time. Made them again last night and it was requested for today's meal also. That's awesome coming from a 7 and 4 year old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bnc

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
I am known as the queen of crockpot cooking in my family, if it can be done in a crockpot, I will do it. I have 5 crockpots, and use them all, all the time! However, I have never tried this recipe, until this past weekend. And now I am a believer! I HATE baking potatoes. They just never come out perfect, so I always end up buying the ones you do in the microwave that are wrapped in plastic. Not anymore...I loved these! I scrubbed, let dry, and then rubbed w/ olive oil and kosher salt. I did not wrap in foil, but they turned out fine. Cooked on High for 4 1/2 hours then removed the lid and let them cool for a bit, and they were perfect. Mine weren't "soggy" like some reviewers mentioned, but it might have been b/c I didn't wrap in foil. Not sure, but I will make my potatoes like this many more times! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke129

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Thanks! I needed a potatoe that would actually be able to cook while I was at church. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
These were OK and I'll do them again if I don't have room in the oven. It is convenient to just put them in and not have to think about them. But, the skins were moist, not dry and crispy like we like them to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Excellent! Didn't change a thing. Will definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesley Maria

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Durham, Durham, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
Good but not great...these are essentially STEAMED potatoes rather than BAKED. The best baked potatoes are simply baked in the oven at a high temperature in order to crisp the skin. Wrapping a potato in foil steams them in the first place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
I agree with Willie, crock pot cooked taters sound wonderful and I'm going to try it, but I've always foil wrapped my taters with canola margarine instead of oil and baked them right along with the roast. They always come out great! I remember my mother had some steel rods she'd poke through the middle of the bigger potatoes to help them cook better. I was never able to find those potato rods anywhere! I think my Dad made them for her!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dragonflyte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
As with any potato cooked in foil, they are steamed, not baked. Still a good way to make them while you are away. But nothing beats baking a potato at 400-425 degrees for an hour unwrapped.....there is a difference in texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
I also add a butternut squash in the crock pot with a few potatos. You can just put it in whole, no need to peel it or cut in half and wrap in foil if you have a smaller crockpot. When it is done, just scoop out seeds, then scoop out all the flesh, add butter, nutmeg and cinnamon. When I come home I have my potato and vegetable, to me the hard and time consuming parts of preparing supper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States