Slow Cooker Baked Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
I have done both sweet potatos and regular ones in the crockpot for years. But do not wrap in foil or rub with oil. Simply wash well, plop them in, and let it go. I usually do two for hubby and me and about two to two and a half hours does it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
I'm going to give this five stars because I think baked potatoes in the crock are awesome! Technically they are not baked but oh so good. I use butter on them instead of the oil. But, I've done this forever . . . they come out so melt in your mouth good and you can't over do them. They stay soft and moist; the skin is just as good and easy to eat. When I do crock potatoes, they are a main dish -- throw whatever bits of leftover, etc on them and ta da! But, I like like my simple with butter, salt and pepper. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
I make this recipe all the time, but do not use the foil. I put the potatoes on the rack that comes with my slow cooker. The skin is nice and crisp. I use the olive oil with 1/4 tsp salt and 1/4 tsp pepper. I try to keep the spuds all the same size and they are done in 4-4- 1/2 hours on high. Left over spuds make great home fries. Make sure to prick the spuds with a fork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
The texture is nothing like real baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Marino, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
No need for all this! Can bake pots in microwave in around 10 mins for pretty much same result. Save energy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
Have not tried it and I'm sure it's good and I wonder we need to improve on the perfect hot steaming fluffy baker that we have made for centuries......? Just sayin'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
My understanding is you just lay the potatoes in the crockpot without any type of water in the pot. When reading this I was afraid everything would burn without something, like water, in the crockpot with them. I am going to have to try this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
Please, please, please don't call this a "baked" potato. It is a cooked/steamed potato & probably is not much worse than a microwaved potato but still a far cry from baking in an oven (or over coals for the adventurous). "Baking" requires dry & open heat to allow the moisture to escape. Any time you wrap in foil or cook in a small, enclosed space you are completely changing the texture of the potato (not for the better).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Good, alternative way to make baked potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
The olive oil gives them an amazing flavor and they are not as dry as oven baked! I make these all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Trail, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States