Slow Cooker Baked Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
My family loved them! I followed directions exactly. My 13 year old daughter will not allow me to make them any other way now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catalina Amber Sanchez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palmdale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
This recipe is genius! I never have time to put baked potatoes in the oven, and the microwave just isn't the same. I rubbed these with EVOO (though I would use a more neutral flavored oil next time since the oil was pretty strong tasting), and didn't wrap them in foil. I cooked on low about 7 hours, and while I couldn't expect the skins to be crispy, they weren't soggy either. The only thing that made this a 4* was the strong EVOO. If I used vegetable oil, or perhaps even skipped the oil next time, it would be a 5* recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happywife05

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
Easy side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ohsewnostalgic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mena, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Bryant, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
I LOVE wacky recipes and this caught my attention. I placed the potatoes on their ends and turned them after about 6 hrs to soften the other ends. They were quite large and took 7 hrs. They came out great. Perfect for space and/or heat saving in the kitchen. I miss them being dry and crispy on the outside so I may experiment with putting them under the broiler for a couple of minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
Have done this but never salted them before...what a revolutionary idea!!!! Just like the upscale restaurants do!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
Came out perfect as written. Thanks for the recipe, so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fairhaven, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
I wanted to have steak and baked potatoes when we got home from church, but didn't want to wait for the oven to preheat and take the time for the potatoes to bake. I also didn't want to heat up the kitchen in the middle of a Phoenix summer. I thought Slow cooker, but didn't know how it would work. I headed for AR. I did 3 potatoes approximately 8oz each. Rubbed them with olive oil and sprinkled with kosher salt. I placed them on crumpled foil, unwrapped, and cooked on high for 4 hours in a 3 quart slow cooker. They were perfectly done when we got home. I placed them in the oven @ 200° long enough to grill the steaks. The skins were not as crispy as totally baking them in the oven but they did dry out a bit more than when I first took them out of the slow cooker. Will definitely be using this recipe again. Thanks for the time and settings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tbearmom03

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
Who knew??? Ever since I came accross this recipe, I have been making baked potatoes this way. Tried them with and without the foil. Much better WITH the foil, although I don't put anything on them when cooking. I cook on high for 5 hours, then the slow cooker automatically goes to warm. I usually do 4 potatoes at a time, this way we always have some potatoes ready for breakfast that can just be shredded, diced or sliced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
I enjoyed the ease of preparation for this recipe. It is not my preferred method of doing baked potatoes but I will definitely make it again if.. a) I need a large amount of baked potatoes for a gathering - I have 4 crockpots. b) if it's too danged hot to bake them in the oven or c) the oven is otherwise occupied. I should also add that I've done this with sweet potatoes as well. Definitely worth keeping the recipe on hand for when baking potatoes or sweet potatoes in the oven just isn't ideal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by torianne31

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harlem, Georgia, USA
Living In: Willow Spring, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
Easy Peasy baked potatoes. Moist and cooked through centres. 3.5hrs on high for 6 large potatoes(No foil or piercing). Then under the highest grill setting for 15mins, turning once. Finished them off nicely; giving them a charred and crispy, oven baked outer skin. Yum! Kids loved them, nothing left on the plate; no higher compliment in my house. New to Slow cooker cooking and loving the convenience and versatility of cuisine that can be cooked in these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States