Slow Cooker Baked Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by Beckie
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
I cooked three large baking potatoes on low for 7-1/2 hours. They were cooked perfectly. Based on other reviews - I decided not to wrap in foil and just rub in the olive oil and salt and put straight into the slow cooker. The outside had a slight crisp to it that we liked, but, wasn't as crunchy as you get in the regular oven. This would definitely be a big help if you are cooking something at a different temperature in the oven than the potatoes would need to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beckie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
I followed directions exactly, cooking my potatoes 4 hours on high but they were overcooked. I suppose it depends on how large/small the potato is as to how long they need to cook in the slow cooker. I'm sure with practice these will come out perfectly and be a time saver for busy days. I topped mine with Reduced Fat Yogurt Ranch Salad Dressing instead of butter and sour cream to make them lighter in calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
I make these every week. So simple and delicious! You really don't even need the salt and oil, if you are in a hurry. If you work all day, buy an outlet timer and you can program it so your crock pot comes on at just the right time, so they won't overcook, but be ready for dinner time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jitterbuggin

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Delicious! For times sake I usually make my potatoes in the microwave. But I will use the slow cooker from now on. I sprayed my potatoes with Olive Oil baking spray after washing. I forgot to poke holes in them, but I will try that next time. I did sprinkle sea salt all over, and then wrapped them in aluminum foil. Baked 4 large potatoes for 8 hours on low, and they were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela A. Smith
Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Callahan, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
I absolutely LOVE these! I dip them in canola oil, use sea salt, a brown sugar rub, and a little touch of minced onion. YUM-MEE!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cakjones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
This works great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
I love these potatoes. At our house we like fried potatoes but I do not like to pay the price to get them in a bag. By putting potatoes in the crock pot like this I can have what ever I want for dinner that night whether it be twiced baked fried or just regular baked. I have cooked potatoes on hand all the time. Cut time in half when I am cooking dinner. Not to mention these potatoes make a good quick potato soup when you remebered to put them on but forgot to lay out the meat for dinner that night. This is never fail way to always have cooked potatoes when you need them without the wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
Yes, Yes, Yes...our absolutely favorite way to make potatoes when we are gone all day. 8 0r 9 hours on low, and they are SO tender and tasty. I do use sea salt, and the kitchen smells so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
What a novel way to make baked potatoes. Not sure why I never thought of doing this. Thanks, Nurse Ellen, I’m glad you did and shared how to! I fixed ‘Country Rib Delight’ from AR and added a salad and these baked potatoes to the meal. The meal was wonderful and the potato was my favorite part. Not sure I’ll ever bake potatoes in the oven again. The skins were so nice and soft and we loved the salt on them. Thanks again, Nurse Ellen for sharing!! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
This was okay for a busy day as the effort was minimal (I didn't bother with the foil) and my kids and husbands ate their potatoes up. In general, we prefer the crisp, chewy crust and steamy interior of a baked potato, but I would defintely use this method again on a busy day. .For those debating: I used the low setting and the 5 medium potatoes were all cooked through. In this methd, the skin becomes moist and tender and the interior gets fluffier than a microwaved potato but a more moist and dense than an oven baked potato. The inside also takes on a tanish/light brownish shade which my kids didn't seem to notice. I would definitely recommend trying this on your family before presenting to guests. Overall, we weren't wowed by the potatoes, but they were fine for a weeknight dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States