Slow Cooker Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2003
This recipe was great. I did have to cook it an extra couple of hours but it was worth the wait. The taste was wonderful. I even froze leftovers and they reheated well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2003
This recipe was absolutely simple and it was delicious! My husband came home after a hard, cold September day to his home smelling like (his words) "heaven". Even the picky 3 year old loved this. Perfect with some cornbread! Yum! I'll make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2004
I have only tasted a few Tbsp. of this recipe and I am impressed considering I screwed up at the beginning. I didn't read the whole recipe and added the ketchup and mustard at the beginning. Opps, it took over 7 hours for the beans to be fully cooked even though I soaked them overnight. Make sure you add enough water to the beans if soaking them overnight. I didn't and the next morning there was almost none. That might have effected the cooking time the next day. Leave a couple inches of extra water on top of the beans. Th two pork hocks I used were big and I was surprised how much meat I was able to get off them. The meat just fell off. When the beans were finally cooked I added the same amount of ketchup and mustard again and some water because it was way too thick. Cooked another 30 mins. and it was done. Froze all of it for lunches. So thanks for the recipe. Grab the Beano and enjoy!!!! Michele, Cambridge, ontario
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICHK35

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2002
This recipe is DELICIOUS! It took a few minutes a couple of times during the morning, and we had delicious baked beans with rice for our lunch. The can cannot compare! This recipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2004
Delicious, easy, and easy to tweak. It also stays delicious for days after you make it. I added some molasses and made it in the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2003
I read all of the reviews first and went with using one 16oz package of beans. I boiled for a while and probably went over 10 mins and let them sit a little over an hour. I just took my time about it. I started the crockpot at 12:30 on High and the beans were perfect by 4:30. Right amount of sauce too and never added more water. I still stayed casual and finished the recipe with the final steps and ingreds and went another hour on low for fear I've over cook them. These are professonal, afordable, and gormet-looking and tasting! This recipe is what your teen boys will brag to their future wives about! No can will ever compare. These are a wow! I will memorize this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
209 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2000
I've been looking for a good baked bean recipe that did not use pork & beans. This recipe is very tasty and I will use it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2000
The Best Ever!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2001
I had to cook these a little longer than stated. It was closer to 6-7 hours. Time may have been cut down if I had soaked them overnight. I also needed to add water during the cooking time so that they would not dry out. I added chopped ham instead of hamhocks and got a great result. Overall, taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2004
wonderful stuff! i used red kidney beans and it turned out very yimmy. thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THUNDERKATZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irvine, California, USA
Living In: Surabaya, Jawa Timur, Indonesia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States