Slow Cooker Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
This was a great recipe! I was a little scared after reading some of the reviews that my beans wouldn't be done on time, but they were! I took them to a party, and everyone loved them! I will be holding onto this recipe for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Easy to prepare and fantastic results as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
I do not know what I am doing wrong but I tried this recipe and followed it. I am still trying to get the beans to soten up after 18 hours in the crock pot. Yes my crock pot is working right beans are bubbling. Now they are at the point of a better taste. No tthe first time I have tried to do backed beans from scratch and have the same problem no mater what method I use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
This is almost the same as the beans my Mom used to make, slow cooked in the oven, except she used molasses. The recipe used to be on the package of Great Northern white beans but I have not been able to find it anywhere. I love beans with maple flavoring and will definately give this one a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Camrose, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
I cooked these just as the recipe read except for a few minor adjustments in time and amount of liquid. This could be because of difference in slow cookers. Everyone said they were the best they ever tasted. I will be making these a lot. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
These were good but I found I needed to add quite a bit more water than what was called for. They did taste even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
I accidentally discarded the water from the beans so I used chicken broth. the turned out great (made a double batch) and they are even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homestead, Florida, USA
Living In: Wadsworth, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Yummy recipe, but too sweet! Next time I will reduce the maple syrup to 1/4 cup. I used a half pound of bacon, chopped, and it was divine. I soaked the beans overnight, drained and then cooked on low for about 10 hours. The beans were cooked but it would be better to make this when you're home to give it a stir, as some of the beans on top were a bit more al dente.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Too sweet, not great flavor. My husband called it "unspecial."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMWILSON98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dixon, Illinois, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
We love these beans! I make them vegetarian (we don't generally eat pork of any sort), add a touch more water (about 1/2 a cup to a cup) and use honey instead of maple syrup though if I had molasses on hand at the time I'd do a honey-molasses mix. I also use homemade ketchup from this site. I don't soak them overnight but do the quick soak method. One thing about the quick soak method is you need much more water than "just to cover them" as this recipe suggests. Add water to at very least about 3 inches above the beans in the pot. Boil for 10 minutes and then let them sit covered and untouched for at least an hour but more if you've got the time. Another thing is stirring the beans often. Maybe two to three times an hour. This prevents some from overcooking. I use 1lb/16oz of dried beans but I leave the rest of the recipe as is. To be fair this recipe, in our opinion, is much more "mustard-y" than standard baked beans but we like that about them. All in all I give these beans 5 stars with my alterations. I give the recipe here 4 because it suggests too little water both in the quick soak and in the crock pot. HOWEVER the water amounts as written in this recipe may work for you. All crock pots are different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaggieFrances

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indio, California, USA
Living In: Desert Hot Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States