Slow Cooker Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
My mom passed away in 1994 and made the best beans ever! This is as close as I have ever been able to come to her recipe! Only difference was I soaked the beans overnight instead of boiling and I increased the water by about 3/4 of a cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Unless preparing kidney beans, beans don't have to be boiled. If you don't soak overnight, put unsoaked beans and a carrot in slow cooker in early a.m. on either high or low depending on your pot. When carrot is soft, remove carrot (discard it), drain the beans, and continue with your recipe. I never achieved the right texture of BBQ beans in the past, so thank you, Laura, as the texture of your beans is spot on (as long as each given slow cooker is given long enough to allow the beans to finish cooking). I don't eat pork right now, so I used liquid smoke instead (would like to try smoked tomatoes, but I don't have a regular source for them yet). The liquid smoke helped quite a bit, but the ketchup flavor was too strong which I suspect would be a mute point w/hamhocks in the pot. In the past, I got close to the pork-n-bean flavor with my own 'made the recipe up myself type of recipe,' which includes apple. Now w/instructions from your recipe, I see the timing of the soaking, draining, & adding sauce more clearly. (Again, kudos to you, Laura, for getting that right, which helped get it straight in my mind.) Now, back to the drawing board on the flavorings sans pork. I'll need to dig up the notes on my old attempt at BBQ'd beans with that apple...., then I think I'll have it just almost perfect. Not long until I get this baby spot on without pork! Enjoy your hamhocks, while I enjoy my beans without ham - or ketchup.....!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
Made this 2 weeks ago and my kids have requested it again a couple more times. Very easy for those busy days, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smiley4jc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hemphill, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
After years of trying to make baked beans without any success (beans always came out too hard) I came across this recipe and tried once more. They were the easiest best beans I have ever made or eaten. I will make this again and again. I omitted the ham hock just because I don't like meat in my beans. Thank you, thank you, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pegs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Got to give these one star. Although the flavour was good, i spent all day cooking these exactly to the directions and my beans were still hard and inedible. The directions should be ammended to ensure that the beans are fully cooked before placing them in the slowcooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Top favorite new recipe for baked beans!!! The only thing I did different was oven baked them at 250....EVERYONE loves these and the maple syrup instead of molasses is to die for...a repeat recipe for SURE and WELL worth adding to your recipe box!!!! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This is a great recipe. We loved how the beans turned out. Salt can be added any time during the recipe as studies have shown it has no effect on the toughness of the bean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
When making any kind of recipe with dried beans, it is best to add the salt at the end, otherwise they won't soften
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
I ran out of ketchup so I subbed for some Heinz Chili Sauce, and it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scubagirl0

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
So these beans have now been cooking for nearly 10 hours and are still not cooked. No - really - TEN hours. I soaked them overnight, boiled them for half an hour this morning and cooked them on high all day. They've been bubbling - cooking - are dark, but are hard and not edible. Pretty frustrating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States