Slow Cooker Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Yummy recipe, but too sweet! Next time I will reduce the maple syrup to 1/4 cup. I used a half pound of bacon, chopped, and it was divine. I soaked the beans overnight, drained and then cooked on low for about 10 hours. The beans were cooked but it would be better to make this when you're home to give it a stir, as some of the beans on top were a bit more al dente.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Too sweet, not great flavor. My husband called it "unspecial."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMWILSON98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dixon, Illinois, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
We love these beans! I make them vegetarian (we don't generally eat pork of any sort), add a touch more water (about 1/2 a cup to a cup) and use honey instead of maple syrup though if I had molasses on hand at the time I'd do a honey-molasses mix. I also use homemade ketchup from this site. I don't soak them overnight but do the quick soak method. One thing about the quick soak method is you need much more water than "just to cover them" as this recipe suggests. Add water to at very least about 3 inches above the beans in the pot. Boil for 10 minutes and then let them sit covered and untouched for at least an hour but more if you've got the time. Another thing is stirring the beans often. Maybe two to three times an hour. This prevents some from overcooking. I use 1lb/16oz of dried beans but I leave the rest of the recipe as is. To be fair this recipe, in our opinion, is much more "mustard-y" than standard baked beans but we like that about them. All in all I give these beans 5 stars with my alterations. I give the recipe here 4 because it suggests too little water both in the quick soak and in the crock pot. HOWEVER the water amounts as written in this recipe may work for you. All crock pots are different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaggieFrances

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indio, California, USA
Living In: Desert Hot Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
i want to know if i can use regular bacon instead of ham hocks not a fan of ham hocks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hugs682006

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harvey, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rankin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Usually in Allrecipes, I can get an idea of how a recipe will turn out based on the reviews, but the reviews for this one were all over the board. One review might say "I followed directions and it turned out bad" and the next review says "I followed directions and it turned out great." This concerned me but I went for it anyway. I didn't know the capabilities of my slow cooker so to be safe, I soaked the beans overnight, then boiled ten minutes in the morning and let them soak for an hour as the directions stated. By the end of the slow-cook time, they were fully cooked. I also took the advice of one reviewer and used tomato paste instead of ketchup. The sweetness was perfect, so I am glad I did not use the ketchup or it would have been too sweet. The beans are now two days old, and I can no longer taste the mustard but only the maple taste. If I were to do this again I would double the mustard, because it seems to fade over time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Milford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
I thought they turned out great! My 2nd time trying (but first with this recipe) and I was very happy. I made a few modifications: - doubled the bean portion - 6 cups - Kept the sugar and maple syrup measurements the same - added 3/4 ketchup - Didn't boil the beans after soaking. Just soaked Turned out fab!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
I soaked the beans last night and even so today I cooked them on high in my crock pot for 9 hours. I did reduce the maple syrup to 1/4 cp and reduced the onion by half. Still there was something lacking in flavor so I added 1/2 cp bbq sauce. They are great and I will use the revised recipe again and would definitely recommend this to friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
These were Great! I used 16 oz of beans (mostly navy but some pintos since that is what I had) and left out the ham hocks. Didn't have real maple syrup so I used Hungry Jack pancake syrup. Also forgot the mustard. Nevertheless, they were wonderful. I didn't need to add any extra water--but I boiled and soaked them for about 8 hours before putting them in the crock pot. Thanks for a delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Loved it! We left out the ham hocks and it was still delicious. I served it with brown rice and steamed broccoli as a healthy dinner and everyone ate it right up! Very easy to make and cheap! I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
My first try at home cooked baked beans and it was very good. I used thick cut bacon (6 slices) and the water from simmering the beans. I added a bit of crushed red pepper but maybe next time a little cayenne for some spice. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States