Slow Cooker Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
So easy to prepare and has that fantastic made from scratch taste that you can't get out of can. I just soaked the beans in my crockpot over night, draining off most of the water in the morning. By the time you cook them for 12-14 hours, you really don't need to cook the beans seperately beforehand. Browned the salt pork first before adding so the pork would completely render. Added 1/2 tablespoon of cider vinegar to the beans right before serving to perk them up a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
I served this yesterday for a New Years celebration and all I got were rave reviews. I only did a few things different. I did a quick soak on the beans and did not pre-cook them. I just put two cups of the soaking liquid in the crockpot. I followed the other directions exactly other than that I added two whole jalepenos to it (seeds and all) to give it a slight heat in the back of your throat when you eat it...it was so mild that my norweigen in-laws couldn't really tell that I had added it. The beans came out darker colored (normal when making them in the crockpot) but the taste is out of this world!! You must try this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
I could not believe how easy it was to make. I tried making baked beans once before and they were awful. If this recipe had not turned out my husband would have been eating beans from a can for the rest of his life. He loved this recipe and we will make it again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Elmvale, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
Really excellent flavor. This is a recipe that will find its way to my table on special occasions only because it takes awhile to cook. I added a sliced kielbasa to mine and we had it for a meal. Really good recipe--Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Crete, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
Awesome beans! Tasted even better than the ones I've baked in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Caron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Center Barnstead, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2006
Crockpots/slow cookers are wonderful auxiliary appliances at any time and especially when preparing a variety of foods for entertaining. I was pleased to find these beans with 100% 5 star rating - at least preceeding me. I was really disappointed in them. I thought I followed the recipe exactly. I do this first time out so I can fairly evaluate the recipe as originally presented. Maybe I omitted an ingredient without realizing it but they were tasteless. I made them for my daughter's engagement party and saw the beans remained, uneaten on many of the guests plates. A good friend (who knows she can tell me what less familiar guests wouldn't) confided that the food was so good she was surprised that the beans did not compare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2006
AMAZING!! Tasted just like they were cooked for hours in the oven!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
This recipe is much like the way my beloved grandmother made her Sunday night beans, only way back then she didn't have a crockpot. I made one slight alternation; I added a good-sized pinch of ground cloves because that's the way she made 'em special. I love the crockpot idea, though. So convenient!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATYPI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
I only give it 4 stars because it was too watery. I found they had great taste! They were just runny and the flavor was watered down too. The recipe calls for 8 cups of water and I was not sure if that meant with the water drained off or not. alltogether I put in 9 cups of water. One cup from the reserved beans water, 8 from tap. Next time I will only add 8 total cups of water, and open the cover about an hour before they are done, just to thicken them up a little. Even runny they have been a great lunch at work over some wheat bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
Thought these were easy and tasted good. Would have liked them a little runnier. Will add more liquid next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bernardsville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cartersville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States