Slow Cooker Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
Too long of a cooking time - beans were almost done after the simmer; didn't let them sit, just put all into crock. Upped all the other ingredients by 1/2 again and added some maple syrup and vinegar. The vinegar just makes it great! Thanks for the easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBIVEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
This recipe was pretty decent - I was looking for one that had good basic ingredients, not anything that is already processed and this fit the bill. The beans were very flavorful and tasty - I'd make a few small adjustments and then I think this recipe would be perfect! First, it might just be my slow cooker runs hot but I'd only cook them 8 to 10 hours, tops. Mine got a little bit dried out and very dark. Second, I'd add less sugar but keep the molasses the same as they were a bit sweeter than I'd prefer. Otherwise, yum! A great cheap recipe that makes a ton. I would definitely recommend cooking these beans, then refrigerating overnight and reheating them the next day. The flavor is a LOT better once it's sat around in the fridge for a while. The leftovers were amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeninmaine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburn, Maine, USA
Living In: Portland, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
I took the advice of other reviewers and added another 1/2 cup of soaking liquid to the cooker, browned the pork first and mixed it all w/a pinch of ground cloves. After 12.5 hrs. of cooking time it was done. Ono! (Delicious). I took it to the neighbors for super bowl potluck & everyone enjoyed it..nothing was left. TY to the OP for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Interesting recipe. Would you believe it's the same recipe as in my old Better Homes & Gardens cookbook copywrite 1981? In BH&G it's called "New England Baked Beans". The only diff is this recipe doesn't call for salt. But the crockpot method is identical.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Iowa, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
I read all the reviews and many had good luck with just presoaking overnight but I did not. My beans were still not done at the end of the day but close. Next time I will also precook them and hopefully they will be perfect. Did add more brown sugar as I like them sweeter, great flavor and aroma will try them again just presoak and precook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey Perez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
Like other reviewers, I agree that the taste is great--very baked bean flavory. Also like some other reviewers, my beans never cooked fully in the crockpot. I pre-soaked and pre-cooked the beans per the directions. Maybe I didn't pre-cook long enough, but I had to finish out the beans on day two on the stove and now I can't stand to look at the leftovers. Oh, well. I gave it a go. Like I said, great flavor, boo on the crunchy beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
So easy! I subed with bacon. Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
Very good! I used Bacon and added ketchup. It was a hit and even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
I pre-cooked the beans as recommended. Browned the salt pork. Added a pinch of ground cloves. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mdgcats

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: Cambria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
this recipe is awesome, i will be making it more often. the only changes i made were, instead of 1 cup of water reserved after draining beans, reserve enough water to cover beans also,next time i will use less onion, it was a little too much for us. but my family loved it and cant wait for me to make these again. GREAT FLAVOUR!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States