Slow Cooker Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
This recipe was pretty decent - I was looking for one that had good basic ingredients, not anything that is already processed and this fit the bill. The beans were very flavorful and tasty - I'd make a few small adjustments and then I think this recipe would be perfect! First, it might just be my slow cooker runs hot but I'd only cook them 8 to 10 hours, tops. Mine got a little bit dried out and very dark. Second, I'd add less sugar but keep the molasses the same as they were a bit sweeter than I'd prefer. Otherwise, yum! A great cheap recipe that makes a ton. I would definitely recommend cooking these beans, then refrigerating overnight and reheating them the next day. The flavor is a LOT better once it's sat around in the fridge for a while. The leftovers were amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeninmaine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburn, Maine, USA
Living In: Portland, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
I took the advice of other reviewers and added another 1/2 cup of soaking liquid to the cooker, browned the pork first and mixed it all w/a pinch of ground cloves. After 12.5 hrs. of cooking time it was done. Ono! (Delicious). I took it to the neighbors for super bowl potluck & everyone enjoyed it..nothing was left. TY to the OP for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Interesting recipe. Would you believe it's the same recipe as in my old Better Homes & Gardens cookbook copywrite 1981? In BH&G it's called "New England Baked Beans". The only diff is this recipe doesn't call for salt. But the crockpot method is identical.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Iowa, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
I read all the reviews and many had good luck with just presoaking overnight but I did not. My beans were still not done at the end of the day but close. Next time I will also precook them and hopefully they will be perfect. Did add more brown sugar as I like them sweeter, great flavor and aroma will try them again just presoak and precook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey Perez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
Like other reviewers, I agree that the taste is great--very baked bean flavory. Also like some other reviewers, my beans never cooked fully in the crockpot. I pre-soaked and pre-cooked the beans per the directions. Maybe I didn't pre-cook long enough, but I had to finish out the beans on day two on the stove and now I can't stand to look at the leftovers. Oh, well. I gave it a go. Like I said, great flavor, boo on the crunchy beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
So easy! I subed with bacon. Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
Very good! I used Bacon and added ketchup. It was a hit and even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
I pre-cooked the beans as recommended. Browned the salt pork. Added a pinch of ground cloves. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mdgcats

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: Cambria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
this recipe is awesome, i will be making it more often. the only changes i made were, instead of 1 cup of water reserved after draining beans, reserve enough water to cover beans also,next time i will use less onion, it was a little too much for us. but my family loved it and cant wait for me to make these again. GREAT FLAVOUR!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
The recipe was good, and the beans were tender, but I had to add a few things to heighten the flavor. 1/2 tsp liquid smoke,1/2 tsp salt, 1 cup ketchup, 2 jalapenos chopped,and 2 tbls vinegar. I just like more taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States