Slow Cooker Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
These were good, but I think next time I'll be making some changes. I made a double batch of these for Christmas and followed recipe exactly. First I would use Navy beans, not Great Northern, they are too big and get a bit mushy, next I will add more of the cooking liquid since the finished beans were a bit on the dry side. I think the pork would be better if they were cooked first. This recipe is a good base for from scratch baked beans which I've never had. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lima, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
the beans turned out great, but i added a little hot sauce for some extra spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meghan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Osage, Iowa, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
I was looking for a basic recipe that did not include canned beans (too much sodium) and tasted like Mom's top-of-the-stove baked beans; this is a keeper! Did not follow the recipe exactly, but found it the perfect base for what I was looking for. My changes (and methods used): Soak beans in water overnight; dump all soak water then boil beans with fresh water (enough to cover beans) for about 20 minutes or until beans are soft and 'mush' between your fingers. Next, drain beans; RESERVE & SET ASIDE ALL LIQUID. Fry 6 pieces of bacon + one onion (both chopped) until bacon is brown & crisp. Drain bacon grease, return beans, bacon, and onion to pot and add remaining ingredients: -enough reserve liquid to cover beans, -1/2 cup brown sugar, -1/2 cup maple syrup, -1/2 cup ketchup, -1/4 cup prepared mustard (I used mix of regular yellow + stone ground), -2 TBS apple cider vinegar, -Did not use salt pork or molasses. IF you like your beans less sweet, start w/ less sugar/syrup & add more later, if needed. Cooking method: on top of the stove using my grandmother's "soup pot" (cast aluminum/ dutch oven pot). Dish is ready in under 2 hours (excluding overnight soak time). I also fry bacon and onion in this same pot, which adds extra bacon flavor to the beans, even with the grease drained off. My beans have been on the stove top for only 20 minutes but I keep going back for another taste! This will be a delicious side dish to go with our home made BBQ & slaw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
I made this recipe exactly as printed, and it turned out perfect. I've made other Boston bean recipes with soaking the beans and without soaking the beans, and always, always the recipes with the soaked beans were the ones that turned out the best. I didn't have salt pork, so I used 4 slices of bacon. Next time, I'll try 6 or 8 slices. I found it wasn't salty enough with the four slices. The reason I didn't give 5 stars was because the recipe didn't say to wait 24 hr's before reheating and serving. These beans are 4 stars after the 14 hours in the crock, but they become 5 stars 24 hours later. Sort of like chili I suppose. This recipe is a keeper, and one I'll make over again. Theshoe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
I used bacon (cooked) 6 strips instead of the salt pork and instead of the molasses I use Maple Syrup. It was excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwich, Connecticut, USA
Living In: North Royalton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Neither my husband nor I cared for this recipe.. In our opinion, they needed something other than sweetness - maybe some vinegar or mustard, and MUCH less molasses...the molasses imparted a bitter taste. Definitely won't be making this again - sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
Too long of a cooking time - beans were almost done after the simmer; didn't let them sit, just put all into crock. Upped all the other ingredients by 1/2 again and added some maple syrup and vinegar. The vinegar just makes it great! Thanks for the easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBIVEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
This recipe was pretty decent - I was looking for one that had good basic ingredients, not anything that is already processed and this fit the bill. The beans were very flavorful and tasty - I'd make a few small adjustments and then I think this recipe would be perfect! First, it might just be my slow cooker runs hot but I'd only cook them 8 to 10 hours, tops. Mine got a little bit dried out and very dark. Second, I'd add less sugar but keep the molasses the same as they were a bit sweeter than I'd prefer. Otherwise, yum! A great cheap recipe that makes a ton. I would definitely recommend cooking these beans, then refrigerating overnight and reheating them the next day. The flavor is a LOT better once it's sat around in the fridge for a while. The leftovers were amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeninmaine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburn, Maine, USA
Living In: Portland, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
I took the advice of other reviewers and added another 1/2 cup of soaking liquid to the cooker, browned the pork first and mixed it all w/a pinch of ground cloves. After 12.5 hrs. of cooking time it was done. Ono! (Delicious). I took it to the neighbors for super bowl potluck & everyone enjoyed it..nothing was left. TY to the OP for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Interesting recipe. Would you believe it's the same recipe as in my old Better Homes & Gardens cookbook copywrite 1981? In BH&G it's called "New England Baked Beans". The only diff is this recipe doesn't call for salt. But the crockpot method is identical.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Iowa, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States