Slow Cooker Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
This came out absolutely beautiful! I had most of the ingredients, except pepper; so I substituted it for Montreal Steak Spice (scythe I think is the actual name) and used the same amount. It does have a bite to it, but then again I like my food like that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trevorl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Doaktown, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
This is a great basic recipe for baked beans. I soaked the beans for 24 hours and did not pre-cook them and they were perfectly soft and tasty not too mushy. I added another cup of water in the crock because I like a thinner sauce and a tablespoon of cider vinegar for a little contrast to the sweetness. As to other posters whose beans remained hard after cooking- this has a lot to do with the age of your dried beans. Old beans take a really really long time to cook. Sometimes they do not get soft at all. It has nothing to do with the directions of this recipe. Which in my opinion would make beans slightly overcooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Easy to make and delicious; careful with the brown sugar - the first batch I made were too sweet - lightened up on the brown sugar to taste and they were absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
We made a few changes, but the end result worked really well. For those of you who get crunchy baked beans but aren't precooking--that's the problem. Unless you want to slow cook for even longer than stated, you need to cook your beans as directed ahead of time. Otherwise, you have to cook your beans in the crock pot, which is doable, but not really how this recipe is intended. Cooking my beans on the stove took less than an hour and a half--they were done closer to an hour, and I had no liquid to reserve. It all boiled away, so it's a good thing I was watching it. If you cook on the stove as directed, you need to add more water than 8 cups. However, if you boil them, there is no need to presoak the beans as this cooks them properly. As I mentioned, I had no leftover water, so I added about a cup and a half, plus a bullion cube to the beans, then added the rest of the ingredients. I also added about 2 tbs of ketchup and garlic to the beans. I left out the sugar initially bc I didn't want it overly sweet. Then I refrigerated and hubs said he'd put in the crock pot before leaving the next day. Well, I came home to an empty crock pot that wasn't turned on. So we ended up cooking on low for about 6 hours and high for 2. Hubs tried it, said it wasn't sweet or saucy enough. So, I put it back in the crock pot today for about 1 1/2 hrs, put in sugar, water, and about 3 more tablespoons of ketchup. Success! More sauce, tastes like baked beans. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
I tried another recipe this past weekend for boston baked beans and it was a dud for my family did not look or taste like what i grew up with today i am trying this one and already short while into cooking process they look and smell devine. I have read a lot of the reviews but i am not changing anything in recipe this time always like to follow first time then make changes if needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Exeter, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
Nice consistency, but a strange smell and aftertaste. I think I don't like molasses. Will try after they sit overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Florence, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Mount Wolf, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I love these beans. I cut the recipe in half, substituted brown sugar for molasses (but used less), and crumbled a slice of bacon in instead of salt pork. I also added some ketchup; about 1.5 Tbs. Had to add some water before I saved them since I like mine juicier. They were fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mountaindo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
The flavor on this was excellent. However, it did not cook as indicated! It says to boil the beans for 1.5 hours, which I did - and there was NO water left. Thankfully they did not burn. I had started it in the morning, thinking I would soak the beans longer. I skipped the soaking and put it straight into the crock pot. I had to add an additional cup of water since I didn't have any left after boiling. I kept the crock pot on low and it was absolutely perfect by 2:30 in the afternoon.... and mushy by the time we ate dinner. I'll definitely do this again, but start it later in the day so they aren't so mushy next time. Again, great flavor. Next time I might add some bacon with the ham to give it a little bit more zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
Followed the recipe exactly. It is much too sweet for my taste. I was trying to find a recipe similar to the canned variety of Grandma Brown's Baked Beans, but this is not it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
These were totally delicious. Maybe a bit on the sweet size for my pallet, but still fabulous. I used low sodium chicken stock for the cooking liquid. I soaked the beans overnight, and I did the first 2 slow cooker hours on high and the last six on low. Perfect texture. Making again this weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Marmaduke

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States