Slow Cooker Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
I'm from New Hampshire so I've been eating traditional Boston Baked Beans my whole life so I know what they should taste like and I'll tell you this recipe is a winner! I shortcut the process by pressure cooking my beans, and even tho people have a fit I don't soak my beans anymore. IMHO it doesn't do a darn thing for the after effects or the taste and just takes up more of my time. Anyway, I thought the stuff looked a little strange when I mixed it up in the slow cooker, but I took it on faith that it'd turn out. I don't use a slow cooker often, so what do I know about what it's supposed to look like, anyway? I went to bed with the stuff going and when I got up in the morning my whole house smelled amazing. (Always a good sign) I opened the lid on my crock pot, and oh happy day! Beautiful brown, sweet baked beans with a gorgeous thick sauce! People were practically pile driving into them at the BBQ, and the leftovers didn't last long! I'm a true believer now and I have no plans to ever make baked beans in the oven again. To all you people who think you have to fiddle with every recipe you come across (which I admit I'm usually one of them), do yourself a favor and make this exactly as it says once before you mess with it; you'll be glad you did. I may someday sub out half the molasses with maple syrup to make it taste like my Vermont born and raised grandmothers recipe, but that's a nostalgia thing for me, not a reflection on the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
I used soldier beans and pure VT maple syrup as the sweetener. I love the crock pot deal...no watching a bean pot for hours on end. My only complaint would be that the beans sort of turn mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
These beans are cooking now, and my house smells amazing! I will admit, I snitched a taste (you have to try something before serving to guests, right?) and they are very tasty! I can't wait to have a serving with our ribs for our Canada Day celebration! These beans are easy to put together, and I followed the recipe as written. I will add a bit of salt toward the end of the cooking time, and that is the only change I will make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STREEVES1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
Absolute must to pre-cook the beans until they are soft enough to eat as is. When you drain out the water you are also removing the undigestible sugars which is a good thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
liquid turned out wierd this time. maybe boil first?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
This came out absolutely beautiful! I had most of the ingredients, except pepper; so I substituted it for Montreal Steak Spice (scythe I think is the actual name) and used the same amount. It does have a bite to it, but then again I like my food like that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trevorl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Doaktown, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
This is a great basic recipe for baked beans. I soaked the beans for 24 hours and did not pre-cook them and they were perfectly soft and tasty not too mushy. I added another cup of water in the crock because I like a thinner sauce and a tablespoon of cider vinegar for a little contrast to the sweetness. As to other posters whose beans remained hard after cooking- this has a lot to do with the age of your dried beans. Old beans take a really really long time to cook. Sometimes they do not get soft at all. It has nothing to do with the directions of this recipe. Which in my opinion would make beans slightly overcooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Easy to make and delicious; careful with the brown sugar - the first batch I made were too sweet - lightened up on the brown sugar to taste and they were absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
We made a few changes, but the end result worked really well. For those of you who get crunchy baked beans but aren't precooking--that's the problem. Unless you want to slow cook for even longer than stated, you need to cook your beans as directed ahead of time. Otherwise, you have to cook your beans in the crock pot, which is doable, but not really how this recipe is intended. Cooking my beans on the stove took less than an hour and a half--they were done closer to an hour, and I had no liquid to reserve. It all boiled away, so it's a good thing I was watching it. If you cook on the stove as directed, you need to add more water than 8 cups. However, if you boil them, there is no need to presoak the beans as this cooks them properly. As I mentioned, I had no leftover water, so I added about a cup and a half, plus a bullion cube to the beans, then added the rest of the ingredients. I also added about 2 tbs of ketchup and garlic to the beans. I left out the sugar initially bc I didn't want it overly sweet. Then I refrigerated and hubs said he'd put in the crock pot before leaving the next day. Well, I came home to an empty crock pot that wasn't turned on. So we ended up cooking on low for about 6 hours and high for 2. Hubs tried it, said it wasn't sweet or saucy enough. So, I put it back in the crock pot today for about 1 1/2 hrs, put in sugar, water, and about 3 more tablespoons of ketchup. Success! More sauce, tastes like baked beans. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef, these ain’t your typical baked beans.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States