Slow Cooker Bacon Potato Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
I didn't have a problem with the soup burning and sticking to the bottom. It definitely took about 3 hrs for the potatoes to become tender though. The flavor is delicious! I didn't have 4 cups of milk and didn't feel like running to the store/my crock pot was also a little to small to hold all the ingredients, but the soup still turned out amazing and tastes great. I put in 1 and 1/2 cups of milk and the soup is nice and creamy. 4 cups would make a thinner soup, so it's all preference. This is a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Abbey_Road
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
SO GOOD! Tastes like a loaded baked potato! Fully cooked in 3 hours. I left the skins on my potatoes for a true baked potato taste. I used a crock pot liner for easy clean up, and since my slow-cooker is a 5 quart, I cut the recipe down to 8 servings (used 3 cans soup + 3 1/4 can milk + 1/4 can half-and-half) but still used 4 slices of bacon and 2 cups sharp cheddar cheese. I also used dried minced onions and dried chopped chives, which turned out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abbey_Road
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
made this at thanksgiving for the men who love a hearty soup they loved it and so did the rest of my family! will defiantly be go to food for big dinners. But the recipe needs to be clear to use evaporated milk not regular milk! also the potatoes took longer to cook than I had thought, next time ill try soaking the precut potatoes over-night for a quicker cook time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I made this tonight! I changed it to just three cans of potato soup and one can chedder cheese! It was awesome! Also I wanted to let you know that it took the entire 4 hrs for my potatoes to cook all the way through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
Growing up, I loved cream of potato soup as an after school snack (I was an odd duck haha!), so when I saw this, I had to try it. I used 3 cans of soup because that is all I had, and therefore I also used 3 cans of milk. I kept everything else the same, except the bacon. I don't know what "4 slices" of bacon means. Is that some weird measurement or what? Clearly 4 slices is a typo, and what was actually meant was roughly a pound, right? Well, that is how I read it anyways ;) Also, I let each person add as much cheese as they wanted to their bowls, rather than stirring it in. Oh,and to cook it, I set my crock pot to low for about an hour, and then kicked it up to high for the remaining time. Yum-tastic!!! This was delicious, and was enjoyed by all :) I love a great soup in the Fall/Winter, so I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Puck

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
I used the recipe as a baseline and made some modifications. It turned out delicious and so easy to make!! Below is the recipe with my own personal touch. Ingredients -4 slices bacon, cooked and crumbled – (I used a jar and a half of the Hormel real bacon bits) -Ham, cooked and cut into bits- (you can find these already pre-cooked and cut in the meat and cheese section at Foodlion) I used the whole bag. About a cup or two. -1 large onion, chopped (I used a large white onion) -4 (10.75 ounce) cans Campbell's® Condensed Cream of Potato Soup -4 (10.75 ounce) cans milk (to make a thicker soup only use 3 cans) -1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper or to taste - Salt (you’re going to have to taste and add salt as it cooks) -2 large potatoes, peeled and cut into 1/2-inch pieces (I used 3 potatoes) -1/2 cup chopped fresh chives -2 cups shredded Cheddar cheese Directions 1. Stir the bacon, ham, onion, soup, milk, black pepper, salt, potatoes and 1/4 cup chives in a 6-quart slow cooker. 2. Cover and cook on HIGH for 3 to 4 hours or until the potatoes are tender. Stir occasionally. 3. Add the cheese and stir until the cheese is melted. Sprinkle with the remaining chives. *Instead of adding Cheese into the entire soup I just sprinkled it on top of each serving and also added some more of the Hormel real bacon bits as a topper. *Also, I added diced green onions to the entire soup, about a hand full.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
this was great and very easy to make. since it's only hubby & me, we reduced the recipe to 5 servings. we both wished we hadn't. I cooked it on low for about 6 hrs or so and it stuck to the sides of my crock pot. next time we make this i'll probably just make it in a soup pot and cook until the potatoes are done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tosha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
This tastes just like a loaded baked potato... the only guilt is in knowing how easy this is to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tessa
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I didn't let it go on high the full time. I skipped the cheese and used bacon bits (because I'm a vegetarian). I loved it! Easy and minimal ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ksullivan312
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
I used 4 cups of milk so it wasn't so "soupy" it was awesome. I cooked on low for 4-4.5 hours
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Prosciutto Asparagus

This holiday appetizer couldn't be easier--or tastier!

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States