Slow Cooker Baby Back Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by zoltman
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Excellent recipe. I let my ribs sit in the refrigerator overnight in a dry rib rub. I also substituted a 12 ounce bottle of backs beer for water. Depending on your slow cooker, eight hours of low cooking may be too long. 6 1/2 hours on low was ample cooking time for me. The last step of caramelizing the barbecue sauce in the oven should not be skipped. It is amazing to have a slightly crusty exterior with a tender rib. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zoltman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
For a busy family that has little time for dinner, but still wants a delicious home cooked meal, this was a life saver!!! Delicious And SOOOOOO easy. LOVE LOVE LOVE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
First time I tried, I grilled on bbq after slow cooker-were great but little blackened from leaving over direct heat and too long. Second time I tried, dementia kicked in and all I could remember was putting them in the slow cooker and adding bbq sauce-nothing else. Did not grill or bake. They were fall off the bone good. My guess is you would have to go out of your way to screw it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
I omitted the onion and garlic because I didn't have any. I made a dry rub with misc. spices, followed the directions. Amazing. Perfect times and prep instructions. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
I have a recipe similar to this but instead of using water, I use apple juice concentrate, the frozen kind, along with a little water added to cover the meat entirely. I also rub the ribs liberally with pork rub and make sure to remove the membrane from the bone side of the ribs. Also, before finishing them in the oven I pull the bones out of the meat so you are left with completely boneless ribs ready to be eaten with little or no mess. I finish with a spicy barbecue sauce so the sweetness of the apple juice is a nice contrast. Very good overall. Instead of apple juice concentrate I have experimented with jams and jellies as well. Plum jelly mixed with water is a great flavor for ribs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
Just ok for us...these are a little more greasy than those done on the grill. Definitely marinate the ribs in a dry rub for 24 hours prior to cooking - that's a must if possible! They are pretty bland as written (I used onion powder, garlic powder, regular paprika, salt and pepper rub per the reviews prior to cooking but did not let them marinate... also used the beer in place of the water and added a tbsp of liquid smoke which really didn't seem to make a difference...no smoky taste really.) I think if I made these again, I would finish them off on the grill. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DADAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
One of the best ribs I have ever had, finger licking good! I actually did the country ribs rather than baby back.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
I modified the recipe and added tomatoes and other seasoning to the slow cooker. I then used the broth for a rice dish while the ribs finished in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
Rubbed ribs with salt, pepper, paprika, brown sugar and a pinch of garam masala; also added ginger ale to the crock pot - I didn't have beer or Pepsi and I figured it was worth a shot! The crock pot and oven method was easy and the ribs turned out perfectly, thanks for sharing Norah!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Queen Llemon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
I thought that the ribs were excellent. Followed the recipe as is, except that along with the salt/pepper called for in the recipe, I added brown sugar, onion powder and garlic powder (to taste) to the rub. Poured Diet Coke into the slow cooker instead of water and cooked on high for exactly 4 hrs. Conducting a little taste test, I coated half of the ribs with Sweet Billy Ray's BBQ sauce and the other ribs with Safeway store brand BBQ sauce and baked for 20 minutes. Safeway won! The meat was tender, succulent and melted in my mouth without senselessly falling off the bone when being handled. After all, the fun in eating ribs is taking the meat off the bone with your MOUTH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Billy Zero

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Opelika, Alabama, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 256) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Baby Back Ribs

Have lip-smacking, saucy ribs ready just minutes after you get home from work.

Slow Cooker Barbeque Ribs

See how to make tender, tangy ribs in your slow cooker.

Baby Back Ribs

See how to make tender, fall-off-the-bone, oven-baked baby back pork ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States