Slow Cooker Au Jus Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Outstanding gravy! Wow was that good! I have to say, though that I started out with homemade beef stock rather than using bouillon which I'm sure had a lot to do with the great flavor of the gravy. I did not add the coffee, nor did I add the steak seasoning. I did not have those on hand. I did add instead a little "Herbamare Spicy" and a little Tamari. I also prefer to sear the roast before adding it to the crock pot, but didn't have the time so I skipped that step. All in all the roast was falling apart tender and the gravy very possibly was the best I'd ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
Quick, easy, delish! I prefer the Roast Beef and Gravy from this site, but hubs DEVOURED and RAVED about this, so it gets a 5. We served on toast hot beef style to soak up the nice sauce. No, you dont taste the coffee and it's not too tomatoey either. Made this exactly as written, although I usually don't brown meat that I'm putting in a crockpot. I just think it's a wasted step and adds cleanup. I recommend this recipe especially if you are a newbie to cooking or using a crockpot. This will turn out fine without much fuss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodlover5

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rice Lake, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
I have to admit, I had my doubts with the coffee and tomato sauce. I was wrong - it was fantastic!! I followed the recipe and the only change was that I added in a couple of sliced shallots. The au jus was so good.. and the leftovers the next day were even better! This will be the go to recipe every time I make pot roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiffermak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Incredible flavor! You may not think the combination of ingredients would work, but the outcome was wonderful. I also added sliced onion. Shredded the leftovers and served with sauteed peppers, onion and mushrooms on hoagie rolls with provolone cheese. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
This was a hit in my house. Both my kids (3 & 6yr) asked for more! So glad I found this slow cooker recipe. My husband loved the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Gorgeous!! Absolutely wonderful. A keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Just like other reviewers I was a little apprehensive of how good this would taste after looking at the ingredients, but this was delicious!! I eyeballed the amount of worcestershire sauce, used 2.5 teaspoons of oregano (I really like oregano). Also we didn't have the Montreal seasoning (although I swore we did!) so I sprinkled some cayenne, onion powder, garlic powder, and hamburger seasoning that we had. I seared on each side like suggested an I do think it is a needed step. I used basil garlic pasta sauce because thats what we had and when I took out the meat to thicken the gravy with corn starch, I used a stick blender to break up the tomato chunks. Overall great recipe will definitely be using this again!! My boyfriend and his family who I made this for, swore up and down that this had a gravy additive because it was that good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney Fissel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
finally O ONIONS! Can\t wait to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
This was the most amazing pot roast I have ever tried! My husband definitely agreed! Thank you so much for sharing this delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridge City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
THis was wonderful! Made it as is, and was not disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States