Slow Cooker Au Jus Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
This was a hit in my house. Both my kids (3 & 6yr) asked for more! So glad I found this slow cooker recipe. My husband loved the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Outstanding gravy! Wow was that good! I have to say, though that I started out with homemade beef stock rather than using bouillon which I'm sure had a lot to do with the great flavor of the gravy. I did not add the coffee, nor did I add the steak seasoning. I did not have those on hand. I did add instead a little "Herbamare Spicy" and a little Tamari. I also prefer to sear the roast before adding it to the crock pot, but didn't have the time so I skipped that step. All in all the roast was falling apart tender and the gravy very possibly was the best I'd ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Gorgeous!! Absolutely wonderful. A keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Just like other reviewers I was a little apprehensive of how good this would taste after looking at the ingredients, but this was delicious!! I eyeballed the amount of worcestershire sauce, used 2.5 teaspoons of oregano (I really like oregano). Also we didn't have the Montreal seasoning (although I swore we did!) so I sprinkled some cayenne, onion powder, garlic powder, and hamburger seasoning that we had. I seared on each side like suggested an I do think it is a needed step. I used basil garlic pasta sauce because thats what we had and when I took out the meat to thicken the gravy with corn starch, I used a stick blender to break up the tomato chunks. Overall great recipe will definitely be using this again!! My boyfriend and his family who I made this for, swore up and down that this had a gravy additive because it was that good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney Fissel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
finally O ONIONS! Can\t wait to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan Pierson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
This was the most amazing pot roast I have ever tried! My husband definitely agreed! Thank you so much for sharing this delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridge City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Incredible flavor! You may not think the combination of ingredients would work, but the outcome was wonderful. I also added sliced onion. Shredded the leftovers and served with sauteed peppers, onion and mushrooms on hoagie rolls with provolone cheese. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
I have to admit, I had my doubts with the coffee and tomato sauce. I was wrong - it was fantastic!! I followed the recipe and the only change was that I added in a couple of sliced shallots. The au jus was so good.. and the leftovers the next day were even better! This will be the go to recipe every time I make pot roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TMak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
THis was wonderful! Made it as is, and was not disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
Quick, easy, delish! I prefer the Roast Beef and Gravy from this site, but hubs DEVOURED and RAVED about this, so it gets a 5. We served on toast hot beef style to soak up the nice sauce. No, you dont taste the coffee and it's not too tomatoey either. Made this exactly as written, although I usually don't brown meat that I'm putting in a crockpot. I just think it's a wasted step and adds cleanup. I recommend this recipe especially if you are a newbie to cooking or using a crockpot. This will turn out fine without much fuss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodlover5

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rice Lake, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States