Slow Cooker Au Jus Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Given the broad and varied array of ingredients I expected something different, unusual. Would I taste the coffee? Would it be tomato-y? Would it instead have its own unique flavor? I probably don’t need to mention that the aroma of this roast filled the kitchen all day, and it was wonderful. As I was eating this, I completely forgot that I was on the look-out for something unusual, noticing instead that what I was eating was a good old tender pot roast (I used a rump roast which I dredged in flour before browning) with a rich, beefy “jus.” No one ingredient stood out and in my mind that’s a good thing. So there was nothing particularly different or unusual about this, but I was not disappointed. It was just plain hearty and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I made this for company. I doubled the amount of coffee, a mistake, but was OK because we like lots of gravy. I thickened the sauce with cornstarch. I love Montreal Steak seasoning and it's a staple in my house. I will be making this many times over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Wrzesinski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hayward, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Photo by Puck
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
This is really very, very good. I followed the recipe exactly, only I did slice an onion and minced a clove of garlic and put them in the crock pot under the roast. Other than that I followed the recipe as written. Well, I should say I didn't measure the spices or the Worcestershire sauce...I just eyeballed what looked good to me. Next time I may thicken the gravy, but this time I just ladled a big ol' spoonful over my portion...so moist, so tender and so tasty! 5 stars and a tip of my hat to you, crancherry :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Puck

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
Interesting twist if you are out of other "staples" for making crockpot roast. I also like the fact you can control the amount of sodium (unlike the recipes that use dry seasoning packets such as onion soup mix,etc). It's pretty hard to mess up a slow cooker roast, and this recipe resulted in a tasty, tender dinner. I always add onions at the beginning, and add carrots and potatos midway through cook time. I would like to give the one star reviewer zero stars for mis-using this forum as a grammar/spelling review. If you haven't tried the recipe, you have no bizznus writing reviews...of anything! The last time I checked, most grade schools are looking for volunteers, so perhaps that is a better use of your skills and talent :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
I will try anything and needed a new pot roast idea. This sounded good. Followed the recipe to the letter. It was just ok. I had made some nice Czech style dumplings to go with the au jus. A waste of the dumplings. The roast looked and smelled great while searing... But my family was unimpressed, as was I. Something was missing in the flavor, and I am at a loss as to what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Janesville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
I haven't tried this yet, but I will soon...looks delicious! RE: the one star vote. I read the directions and yes, there is a "typo". Not too many of those on this website. I think most of the cooks that enjoy All Recipes will be able to make this dish without a problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koye

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
My picky 11 yr old declared this was the best meat I've made so far and that I should make it again. I followed the recipe as stated except that I did slice an onion and put it in the bottom of the crock pot. I also then added baby red potatoes and carrots on top and around the meat so a complete meal would be ready when I got home. My husband loved it as well, it was the most tender, moist, fall off the bone roast I've ever done in the crockpot. Delicious! I have lots of left over juice and meat so I will thicken it into a stew for another meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
Tasty although I thought au jus style gravy is thin, but this turned out quite thick. Tasty meat still though and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
Fantastic! The only thing I did differently was that I used some frozen pulverized tomatoes that I have from my garden (I am trying to use them up and didn't have a can of tomato sauce.) It worked out fine, but I would use the tomato sauce if I had it available next time. The meat was sooooo delicious, I kid you not. I will go to this recipe the next time I am making a pot roast...which will be soon, I'm sure, because everyone loved this one! Note: I did not need to cook it for 8 hours, because it was done way earlier than that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
Quick, easy, delish! I prefer the Roast Beef and Gravy from this site, but hubs DEVOURED and RAVED about this, so it gets a 5. We served on toast hot beef style to soak up the nice sauce. No, you dont taste the coffee and it's not too tomatoey either. Made this exactly as written, although I usually don't brown meat that I'm putting in a crockpot. I just think it's a wasted step and adds cleanup. I recommend this recipe especially if you are a newbie to cooking or using a crockpot. This will turn out fine without much fuss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodlover5

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rice Lake, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States