Slow Cooker Apple-Scented Venison Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
This is a real keeper! I have never like venison before but this recipe changed that. It was just like having a beed roast. I did add all of the ingredients at once and put it on low and let it cook for about 8 hours. Thank you the apple were magical...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
This recipe was super simple. I had a should roast with a small amount of fat on it, decided to add fresh mushrooms so I removed the roast (which was browning nicely) and sauteed mushrooms right in the crock pot. I didn't even add bouillion, just the water. I regret not taking a picture, it was very appetizing to look at. Meat was tender and moist. I will definitely share this recipe with my son who gave me the venison.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
My husband made this recipe, and it was delicious. Very moist and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JODI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enon Valley, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Clinton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
I have made venison roasts in a crockpot several times before, with different recipe variations, but they always came out dry and tasting like they were cooked in a crockpot. My husband LOVED this version; the roast stays moist and the flavor was so good. I will definitely recommend this to all the other hunter's wives I know!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
188 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
what change this is the best recipe for a deer roast yet. its so easy. First time i made it it cooled on low for 10 hours and still did not end dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
This recipe is wonderful!! We're not big roast fans as a rule, but my husband is an avid hunter and brought home some this year. This is a great way to make it - very flavorful, and it smells great while it's cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
This was excellent. My husband is a steak and baked potatoe type of guy when it comes to his venison. He LOVED this though. The longer it cooked the more tender it was, at 6 hours it was still a little tough for my liking. At 8 it was perfect. The gravy was also fab over mashed potatoes! I rubbed the roast down with salt and pepper also before roasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
Delicious! I think the apples take away the gamey taste. I omitted the oil and used one cup of beef broth in lieu of the hot water and bullion cube. Simple yet very tasty…I will make it again but I will probably salt and pepper to the roast before cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
155 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
This is awesome, best crockpot venison roast I ever had, easiest too! Usually I follow a recipe to the T 1st time trying it, but, with this, the sauce was to thin so I omitted the C of water & poured the juice in a sauce pan and made gravy. Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
I just tried this recipe last night and my husband and I loved it. This definitely adds variety to our venison recipes. Its a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States