Slow Cooker Apple-Scented Venison Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
GREAT recipe! My kids, my hubby and the neighbor kid thank you! Easy and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARGIEBOZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cecil, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
I have made venison roasts in a crockpot several times before, with different recipe variations, but they always came out dry and tasting like they were cooked in a crockpot. My husband LOVED this version; the roast stays moist and the flavor was so good. I will definitely recommend this to all the other hunter's wives I know!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
183 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
Delicious! I think the apples take away the gamey taste. I omitted the oil and used one cup of beef broth in lieu of the hot water and bullion cube. Simple yet very tasty…I will make it again but I will probably salt and pepper to the roast before cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
150 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
This was excellent. My husband is a steak and baked potatoe type of guy when it comes to his venison. He LOVED this though. The longer it cooked the more tender it was, at 6 hours it was still a little tough for my liking. At 8 it was perfect. The gravy was also fab over mashed potatoes! I rubbed the roast down with salt and pepper also before roasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
I just tried this recipe last night and my husband and I loved it. This definitely adds variety to our venison recipes. Its a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
Very tasty. I was worried that the roast would be a little dry but it had a great texture. I feel that it would be better with a touch of red wine in the crock while cooking. I made gravy in the crock as well after removing the roast. Instead of cornstarch of flour I used potatoe flakes as the thickener.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
The apples are an essential key to removing any "gamey" taste the roast might have had. We made some alterations for a FANTASTIC pulled roast/stew recipe....First we rubbed salt, pepper and crushed rosemary onto the roast. Placed it into slowcooker with additions (onions, apple, loads of extra garlic), and let sit, covered, for about 10hours on low. In the morning, we added a 14oz can of beef broth, 1/2 bottle of Bell's Porter beer and a few chopped carrots and let it simmer until dinner time. NExt time we'll add a few more veggies to make the most DELICIOUS stew ever! But, as it was, we thoroughly enjoyed it in a bowl served over some cheesy mashed potatoes with gravy (made from the stock). Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
198 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
This recipe is wonderful!! We're not big roast fans as a rule, but my husband is an avid hunter and brought home some this year. This is a great way to make it - very flavorful, and it smells great while it's cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
My husband made this recipe, and it was delicious. Very moist and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JODI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enon Valley, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Clinton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
This is awesome, best crockpot venison roast I ever had, easiest too! Usually I follow a recipe to the T 1st time trying it, but, with this, the sauce was to thin so I omitted the C of water & poured the juice in a sauce pan and made gravy. Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States