Slow Cooker Apple-Scented Venison Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
I had never made deer before, and I loved this recipe. I did add half a can of beef broth, some fresh mushrooms, and I did two apples instead of one. I put it over mashed potatoes like someone else said to...and my family loved it. It was very tender and reminded me so much of beef, but was richer and better :) Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg Lammers

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Just finished eating this lovely roast. Definitely needs the gravy (tried it without the sauce and it was dry)I was pleasantly surprised that apple gravy would be so delicious! We ate it alongside mashed yams and potatos. Delicious and happy to have a different recipe for our freezer full of venison.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Tsuji

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
Finally I tried this recipe and my husband and I were a little skeptical when we jad our first taste on the meat without the sauce. We changed our minds after adding it. It was simply delicious! I added some apple sauce on top of fresh apples and followed the rest of the instructions. We had great sauce for the roast but next time I will peel the skin off the apple before cooking as it was a little messing when I removed it after cooking, and blend onion and garlic and mix with the apple sauce to make the finish texture smoother. An absolute great recipe especially when you have time constrain and want to prepare a nice, decent meal. Definitely will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
Turned out great, loved it. I added about 1/4 cup of beef broth to the pot as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Keystone Heights, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
Let me preface my comments by saying that my husband is a HUGE deer hunter and our family LOVES venison--fried, grilled, as sausage . . . you name it. I gave this recipe 2 stars because it is edible. However, that's the kindest thing I coan say about it. Despite the fact that the onion and apple and venison made a lot of juices, the meat was most definitely NOT falling of the bone tender--nor did it have any flavor, notwithstanding the fact that I used an additional apple, Cajun seasoning and balsamic vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vicksburg, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Greenville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
magic apple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
This is the BOMB! The only things I added were a splash of Balsamic vinegar and some lemon pepper. I too took the roast out and made gravy in a sauce pan for mashed potatoes. Unbelievable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
The apple really made a difference in the flavor of the roast, it was very tasty. I did use twice as much broth, half went in the crockpot with the roast to keep it moist and the other half was used for gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
I've never had deer roast so tender. It was falling apart when I tried to take it out of the cooker. I took the advice of some of the other reviewers. I cooked the roast, apples, and onions overnite in the crockpot (about 10 hrs) on low. Then added frozen veggies with broth and cheap regular beer. Most excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aliann11

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
This recipe was simple and perfect for our needs. Even tho I tought it smelled funny when I first opened the crockpot, the meat was tender, juicy and tasty. I used one McIntosh apple, however next time I would use 2 of them - I love the apple bite and since they mush up, there is no chunks or need to remove them. I served it along with roasted garlic mashed potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QuebecGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Quebec, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Casa Grande, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States