Slow Cooker Apple-Scented Venison Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
Very good! I made this as directed except at the end I made some modifications. I removed the roast from the slow cooker & shredded it. I discarded the apples but not the onions. I whisked one can of cream of mushroom soup into the juices and heated. I then tossed the meat w/the sauce and it was wonderful!!! I served it with veggies & baked yams. It would also be very good on sandwich rolls. This is definately a keeper! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFKULP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honey Brook, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Narvon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
Used Venison roast and it was excellent. FIrst time I tried to cok venison and it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
This is a great recipe. I made it for the Daytona 500. It was very tender. All the family and friends loved it. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
This is the best recipe I have found for deer meat. You must keep in the slowcooker for at least twelve hours for it to become tender. I never liked deer roast until now, even my four year old granddaughter loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
So delicious! It didn't taste gamey at all. I didn't have the beef bouillion, so I strained the juices out of the crock pot. Fabulous! I added a little sugar to the juices before serving and it was heaven! I could barely cut it since it was so tender. It just fell apart. I cooked it on high for 3 hours and then low for 1. My 11 month old ate it up, as did my 7 and 6 year olds, husband and myself. Definitely a keeper! **Just wanted to add that I made it again the following week with applesauce instead of the apple and it was just as delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
This is an excellent recipe for the venison stored in my freezer! Loved the idea of the apples. This roast came out so moist and tasted just like a beef roast. Left this in the slow cooker for 10hrs on low. I did rub salt and pepper on the roast and added extra garlic. Will definitely make this again! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
worked out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie Mackintosh
Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
very, very good and really easy! my husband is an avid hunter and gave this a big thumbs up, he absolutely loved it and I enjoyed it too. It makes for a great leftover sandwich too. I used the suggestion of beef broth instead of a boullion cube and water. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
My kids loved this recipe. I thought the meet was a litle dry but the taste was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
I had never made deer before, and I loved this recipe. I did add half a can of beef broth, some fresh mushrooms, and I did two apples instead of one. I put it over mashed potatoes like someone else said to...and my family loved it. It was very tender and reminded me so much of beef, but was richer and better :) Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg Lammers

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States