Slow Cooker Apple-Scented Venison Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
I never eat venison, but I loved this recipe!!! I made it for my husband and his friends with the works - mashed potatoes and gravy -- it was absolutely delicious. I highly recommend it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Yummy. Added 2 Cortland Apple slices. I also added the beef broth right at the beginning too. I served over baby red smashed potatoes and was delish! Everyone ate it including my 2 year old (4 year old wouldn't touch it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
Neither me or my fiance (who LOVES venison) cared for this recipe at all. The roast was dry, it smelled strange while cooking and didn't taste good. Won't be trying this recipe again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
This was fabulous. I added some corn starch late in the cooking to make the gravy a little thicker. Served over mashed potatoes, it was a great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
This was tasty and a great way to prepare venison. I have others I like slightly better but I'll use this on occasion for a gamier piece of meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABYFRO97

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
Made exactly as written. This is the best venison recipe I have ever cooked. The meat literally fell off the bone. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
Excellent way to prepare venison. Normally venison is too gamey for my liking but the apple worked perfectly to mask the gameyness. Meat turned out extremely tender and the sauce went well with mashed potatoes. I added a bit more apple and rubbed the meat with salt, pepper and rosemary prior to cooking. Next time I plan on adding a bit of maple syrup or apple juice to the roast for a little extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
Didn't care for this recipe. The roast was dry (not enough juice to cover the roast). The gravy had a weird taste. Although I must admit it smelled wonderful as it was cooking...the smell did not match the taste. Definitely missing something...taste. It didn't have any flavor. We eat venison all the time, so I was disappointed this one didn't work out. Definitely won't be making this one again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hudson, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
Very good! I made this as directed except at the end I made some modifications. I removed the roast from the slow cooker & shredded it. I discarded the apples but not the onions. I whisked one can of cream of mushroom soup into the juices and heated. I then tossed the meat w/the sauce and it was wonderful!!! I served it with veggies & baked yams. It would also be very good on sandwich rolls. This is definately a keeper! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFKULP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honey Brook, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Narvon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
Used Venison roast and it was excellent. FIrst time I tried to cok venison and it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States