Slow Cooker Apple-Scented Venison Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I made this and was not impressed by the flavor. Thoght the meat was tender it was missing something even more than the salt and pepper I added to the roast.I will try again maybe I will add some grond clove and cidar vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melissa.507

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Apple Valley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Kilkenny, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
I have never made anything in a slow cooker that cooked for 8 hours and turned out dry, but this was beyond bone dry and incredibly tough. Will not be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
The aroma of this dish cooking could make you swoon. I cannot bring myself to eat deer, but my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Kosa

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
I never eat venison, but I loved this recipe!!! I made it for my husband and his friends with the works - mashed potatoes and gravy -- it was absolutely delicious. I highly recommend it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arkport, New York, USA
Living In: Lock Haven, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Yummy. Added 2 Cortland Apple slices. I also added the beef broth right at the beginning too. I served over baby red smashed potatoes and was delish! Everyone ate it including my 2 year old (4 year old wouldn't touch it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
Neither me or my fiance (who LOVES venison) cared for this recipe at all. The roast was dry, it smelled strange while cooking and didn't taste good. Won't be trying this recipe again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
This was fabulous. I added some corn starch late in the cooking to make the gravy a little thicker. Served over mashed potatoes, it was a great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
This was tasty and a great way to prepare venison. I have others I like slightly better but I'll use this on occasion for a gamier piece of meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABYFRO97

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
Made exactly as written. This is the best venison recipe I have ever cooked. The meat literally fell off the bone. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
Excellent way to prepare venison. Normally venison is too gamey for my liking but the apple worked perfectly to mask the gameyness. Meat turned out extremely tender and the sauce went well with mashed potatoes. I added a bit more apple and rubbed the meat with salt, pepper and rosemary prior to cooking. Next time I plan on adding a bit of maple syrup or apple juice to the roast for a little extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States