Slow Cooker Apple-Scented Venison Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
it was good. needed to season it more, but overall a good recipe that i will make from time to time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delafield, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
This was good, double the beef broth, Cover and I mean cover with apples and onions. I made it with double the broth and I made it with 1 can broth and 2 cups apple juice both ways are really good. If it was dry for you it could be one of two reasons, not enough broth or Deer was too old. The older you get the tougher you are. LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PREDESTOGO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windber, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
too much cinnamon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
I've tried this recipe many times in the original way and also with some of the suggested changes it always comes out well. I love slow cooker venison because I need to find ways to cook the gamey taste out of the meat. And because I don't buy beef its all we have in the freezer. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babynurse54
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Followed the recipe exactly, but substituted moose for venison. Perhaps that was the problem? It was okay and we ate it, but I don't think I'll be making this again. The meat was slightly dry and the flavor was fine, but not fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
I didn't have any venison roasts, so I ended up using 2 or 3 tenderloins. This recipe took a nice piece of meat and turned it tough. It didn't have any scent while cooking and there was no apple flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dondie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mounds, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Coweta, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I made this and was not impressed by the flavor. Thoght the meat was tender it was missing something even more than the salt and pepper I added to the roast.I will try again maybe I will add some grond clove and cidar vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melissa.507

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Apple Valley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Kilkenny, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
I have never made anything in a slow cooker that cooked for 8 hours and turned out dry, but this was beyond bone dry and incredibly tough. Will not be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
The aroma of this dish cooking could make you swoon. I cannot bring myself to eat deer, but my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
I never eat venison, but I loved this recipe!!! I made it for my husband and his friends with the works - mashed potatoes and gravy -- it was absolutely delicious. I highly recommend it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States