Slow Cooker Apple-Scented Venison Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
This recipe was easy to prepare. I added salt and pepper to the meat and also a bit of thyme. The sauve turned out really well and had good flavor. It was delicious to eat over egg noodles. Unfortunately, I can't say the same for the meat. While it did come out tender and not dry, it was very gamey- to the point that I didn't eat it. I don't think this is a flaw of the recipe, more likely of the meat. (not sure how long it had been in the freezer) I think I'll try this again with a pork roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
This was fantastic! It has turned some people who were wary of deer into venison lovers. Great easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Amazing! I used venison chops and I added a little corn startch to thicken the gravy. Nothing was left after this meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
This is wonderful! I have made it several times and it always turns out delicious! It's sooo easy too! I usually add chunked carrots, and they are a great addition! I also always make mashed potatos as a side. MMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I loved the apples in this! It definately masked the gamey taste that Venison roast usually has! I added a cup or two of broth in mine as apposed to the bouillion to keep it moist. I also used garlic powder, steak spice and pepper. Great recipe! Definately cook this one on low :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany Lamoureux

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
DEFINATELY COOK ON LOW!!!! My roast was dried out cuz 4 hours on low it looked like it wasn't cooking, so I increased the heat and forgot to lower it again.LOL The flavor was great though. I rubbed the roast with brown sugar, salt,pepper and garlic powder first. I made the sauce to go over it as directed and didn't need to add any further seasonings. Will be MUCH better next time. My husband and kids ate it and had no idea it was deer. GOOD JOB MOM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
A good way to make a venison roast... we are use to the "gamey" taste so it doesn't bother us... this recipe worked well... I served it over noodles... but it was too juicey... next time i will try over mashed potatoes to soak up the juice... the meat tasted good though... next time I will season it with atleast salt and pepper... and it was super super easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Small Roast used 2 apples diced in 8 pieces in place of 1. Turned out great and moist about 1.5 cups of broth in the bottom created from the roast didn't add the bouillon or water..Serving this over egg noodles..Cooked it for 8 hours :O) PERFECT!! Will use this recipe again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jayashiangel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Branch, Michigan, USA
Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
I just made this, I waited too long to start in crock pot so I baked in oven, Stated at 450 for 15 minutes and then turned heat down to 350 for one hour. This was awesome, had good flavor and tender. The apples was the secret, No gamey taste at all. Thanks for the recipe, next time I will use slow cooker think it would be much more tender if I had cooked this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States