Slow Cooker Apple-Scented Venison Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
This was my first foray into venison. It had an odd flavor while also quite bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
My dad gave me a venison roast and I had no idea what to do with it. This recipe was pretty good--the meat fell off the bone and was tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mona

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
This recipe is amazing. I made it for Easter dinner and it was a real success. I changed it up slightly in that I added a drizzle of balsamic vinegar at the beginning, and I put the cooker on high for the first hour and low for the rest. I had it in the for a little under 7 hours total. When I took it out of the crock pot, it didn't look so good, and I was pretty worried - it looked pretty dry and tough. But when we cut into it it was tender and juicy, and the flavor was fabulous. The gravy made from the cooking juices was crazy good. I've never been one to sop up the gravy with my bread, but I couldn't help myself this time. I'm extremely pleased with this recipe and will definitely be saving it for the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
This is omg amazing! My boyfriend works graveyard, so I had dinner by myself while he was sleeping. I was so tempted to eat the whole roast and leave him just a taste. I only had a 1.5 lb. roast and it still turned out amazing. No gamey taste and very tender. I didn't have any beef bouillon so I just added the water and a little bit of flour to make the gravy. I did salt and pepper my roast, but other than that I followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
This roast is wonderful. And the apple does do something magical. I also made this using 1/2 cup water and 1/2 cup apple cider vinegar and it tased like sauerbraten! Awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Macy, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
I didn't use any beef bouillon. Added a second apple along with twice the garlic and plenty of Rosemary and Thyme(~20 springs and ~10 springs, respectively), and about a tsp. each of garlic powder, chile powder, and crushed chillies. The end result was fantastic, and the drippings made an excellent gravy with some additional salt and thickener (I used arrowroot).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Pretty good recipe. I am going to add a little soy sauce next time to add a little saltiness. The apple flavor was incredible with the venison.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
This was an easy recipe and the broth came out good. I had no game taste. This is gonna be one of my favorite recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
A beautiful way to cook a venison roast. The pan juices make a very delicious gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
This was so easy and turned out great. I ended up cooking my roast a little longer about 8 hours on low but I had doubled the apple and added some extra garlic (my family cannot have too much garlic). Everyone loved it even my hardest to please!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States