Slow Cooker Apple Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
First off, (and I mean this in a polite way) for those of you saying there's no sense in doing this in a crock pot when you have the do the work either way with the apples, you are missing the point of having a crock pot in the first place. It frees up your time so that you do not have to keep such a watchful eye on it. My husband had to go work this morning, on a Sunday, and so he just switched on my crock pot for me when he left the house. Everything was already in there...and when I woke up, I had fresh apple crisp, already cooked and just waiting to be eaten. Moving on...this turned out perfectly! I left my apples in slices since they were small apples. I also adjusted this recipe to be gluten free and free of refined sugars. I actually mixed the walnuts in with the apples rather than the topping. And I used xylitol in place of sugar, adding some molasses to the crumb topping to add the richness of brown sugar. I don't care for ginger in my desserts, so I just used cinnamon and nutmeg for the spices. I also used a lot less sweeteners...only about 1/4 cup of xylitol in the apples and 1/3 cup in the crumb topping, with about 1/4 cup of the molasses. I also omitted the cornstarch and just used a few Tbsp. of GF baking mix. I used Earth Balance in place of butter, and it works great. I can tell you the taste is the same, even with my changes. I've made apple crisps the way as printed before going GF. They are both great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
613 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trish Bakes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
I don't have a slow cooker so I did this in the oven, and I have to say I can't see why you would bother doing it any other way. Preparing the apples took the most time and you have to do it either way. I used half Granny Smith and half Macs and I added oatmeal to the topping, and baked it at 375 for about 40 minutes. The spice balance was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
472 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
Very good and easy. I think next time I will add a little oatmeal to the crumb mixture. Otherwise it was great with a side of ice cream. We camp alot and I like to bring things to make in the crockpot, this was nice because it is done in 2 hours without heating up the house/camper. Thanks SDROSIE. I will make this again. Good flavors. UPDATE: Just as good the next day cold. Loved this and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
262 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bayfield

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay Village, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Fabulous recipe designed for the slow cooker! I love apple crisp and usually end up doing this in the oven. I had my doubts, but this really proved to be a great alternative! I subbed 1/4 tsp. of nutmeg for the ginger and added a couple of tsp. of vanilla to the apples that I sliced thin vs. chopping. I wanted the apples to be recognizable and not to get mushy or "lost" during cooking. Like others, I added 1 cup of rolled oats to the topping. I cooked it for 2 hours on high, tuned it down to low and then left the lid off for one hour. I do think next time I would add more apples because I ended up with more "topping" or "crisp" than apples when all was said and done. Overall, it was awesome with vanilla ice cream on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
Delicious! I addeda large handful of oatmeal to the crisp topping, as suggested by other reviewers. I cooked it on low for 3 hours, then turned the lid crooked so each end of the oval cooker was exposed and cooked one hour, the topping was quite crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
we loved it. Used all Granny Smith apples and added 1 pack instant Oatmeal (Cinnamon and Apple) and cooked it for 4 hours on low, took off the lid and cooked another hour on high. Came out crunchy, but not too crunchy. Will make this over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miezimau

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
This recipe is great for my office pot lucks. I prep everything the night before using the lemon juice to keep the apples from turning brown. I put everything in seperate bags (apples, cornstarch mixture, and topping) and put it all together when I get in. Everyone enjoys this perfectly cooked, hot dessert when it's pot luck time. I don't like nuts so I substitue 1c of quick cooking oatmeal and leave the lid off for an hour before it's time to eat (which makes the office smell fantastic).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
I used 3 Granny Smith apples, 3 Gala, and 3 Jonagold. My sliced apples filled a 3 quart bowl, which worked perfectly in my 4 quart slow cooker and cooked to just over 1/2 that amount but my apples were quite large to start with. One variety turned to mush and I am sure it wasn't the Granny Smith. Some held their shape well and were actually cooked perfectly. The flavor was very good and had just the right amount of sweetness. However, it never hardened on top. For this reason alone, I don't think I will be making it in the slow cooker again - I will stick to using my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KGora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
OMG! This is awesome. so simple. my kids left nothing for hubby so i hadda make more. BUT... I baked it in the oven in a 9x13 glass pan sprayed with pam uncovered for 40 minutes. substituted raisens for the walnuts. Used Fuji apples. This was a nice project for the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wading River, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
SUPER easy and SUPER yummy! I added 1 cup of oats to the crumb mixture before mixing it all together. Serve with vanilla ice cream and be prepared to make serious YUMMY NOISES!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B.Mace

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Best Apple Crisp Ever

Tart apples go perfectly with the sweet, crunchy topping.

Apple Crisp II

This satisfying warm dessert goes perfectly with vanilla ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States