Slow Cooker Apple Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
I just have to say that this recipe is scrumpdidleyuptious! My husband also thought it was fantastic! Frees you up to do other things. I also do not peel the apples, this helps to hold them together better. At the end I let the lid off so the crust gets crispier. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
I loved the idea of making apple crisp in the crock pot, however, the topping didn't get very hard. It also was a little too sweet for me. I will try making it again...but next time I will cut back on the sugar & bake it in the oven. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XtinaU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
AH-MAZING! I was skeptical that this would be anything special, but I was sooo wrong. It was so terrific that I'm going to make it again and again! I didn't have ginger and ran short on cinnamon so I added a tsp of vanilla. I also took the other advice and added 1cup of oatmeal to the topping. Definitely use a FULL 6 cups of apples because they cook down so much. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
I have NEVER rated a recipe until now and I've been using this website for YEARS!! This is a wonderful, easy recipe. The only 2 things I changed was to add more cinnamon to the apples and to the crumb topping because I love cinnamon. Also added oatmeal to the crumb topping. Try this recipe, you won't regret it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
My only complaint...and I mean my only was the peeling. I prefer the peeling on (more fiber) but the peels in the slow cooker were still a little firmer than i would normally like, but other than that it was great! I even cut up another stick of butter to put on top before I let the crust brown on top. I omitted the nutmeg (I was out), but other than that I made it true to recipe. I did double it and put what didn't fit in my slow cooker into a 8x8 casserole dish. It wasnt nearly as good as the slow cooker one, but still good. Great great recipe. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Tasted pretty good with ice cream. Only dislike was the topping was soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by awebbchic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
so easy to make! that's what I loved about it. I also added a teaspoon of vanilla, instant oatmeal, and left out the walnuts (only because I didn't have any). I didn't bother to peel either - I just used my apple slicer and threw them in the slow cooker. Because I have so many cortland apples from apple picking this weekend - that is what i used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
WOW so ez BUT SOOOO good was the hit of the dinner----used brown sugar and no white and they ask for seconds. Did cut back on sugar amount because of sweetness of fruit (used asian pear and apple combo) Served with whipped cream A Keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
Came out wonderful even though I used old apples that were past their prime. Didn't need to cook quite as long as it says, but it depends on your slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
Easy and so good! I'm thinking about making this for Thanksgiving dessert since I always have problems juggling dishes that go in the oven. I omitted the nuts and think I will try adding oats next time. I used whole wheat flour instead of white and it gave a nice nutty flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookntaste

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Best Apple Crisp Ever

Tart apples go perfectly with the sweet, crunchy topping.

Apple Crisp II

This satisfying warm dessert goes perfectly with vanilla ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States