Slow Cooker Apple Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
This was my first time ever making apple butter. It could not have been easier. I used Arkansas Black apples (about 15 large) until my crock-pot was full and really couldn't hold anymore. I also ended up mashing the apples after the first 8 hours and then I smushed everything through a wire strainer/sifter after it had cooked for about 22 hours. I wanted a smoother texture. I did end up cooking mine for about 25 hours just because I was trying to cook some of the liquid off to make it thicker (removed the lid the last 3 hours). I ended up with an apple butter that was great tasting and a really deep rich brown color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
I decided to make this as my first ever slow cooker recipe and cut the recipe down quite a bit. I only had 3 pounds of apples, so I reduced the remaining ingredients down so I was only making 1/4 of the original recipe. What happened - my apple butter burnt in the slow cooker during the second cooking cycle (10 hours on low). Any thoughts on why? Not enough liquid, not enough ingredients for the large cooker, etc.? Wondering if anyone else had the same type of experience thier first time out so I can figure out what I did wrong. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
An easy and tasty recipe. I have given jars as gifts for years and everyone loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by noodlelady

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
I cut this recipe in half and it still made a ton of Apple Butter. I used about 2/3 the amount of sugar (brown and white) that the recipe calls for and it turned out awesome! I even gave the stuff out at work and everyone who tried it LOVED it. The hardest part was peeling all those apples. Once peeled, I put the chunks of apple (minus the seeds of course) through the grater attachment of my food processor. Then, when I put the sugar in, I tested to see how chunky the apple butter was. It was still a little too chunky for my taste, so I took a potato masher and used that to stir/mash in the sugar. This is an awesome recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
I messed it up! Only made half a batch & when it came time to add the spices I used a whole cup of brown sugar. It's not bad tho. Kept waiting on my house to smell good but all I smelled was the apple cider vinegar. Will give this another try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
This recipe is excellent! Super easy. I cut the sugar back some, but this has great flavor. Perfect with biscuits!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Delicious, and the house smelled wonderful all day! I didn't have ground cloves, but it tasted fine without. I also had to use a blender to get the smooth consistency that I wanted. I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
First time I've made this recipe and it turned out perfect. I highly recommend it to anyone who wants great apple butter. It makes a lot. I ended up with 2 16oz jars, 2 12oz jars and 6 8oz jars. The only thing I changed was the type of apples I used...I used Gala apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
supper easy, just had to blend to make smooth. maybe cut apples a little smaller.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
I got about 3-4 cups of actual apple butter wow it cooked down! I just left it on low for 20-22 hours then it was all done! So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

How to Make All-Day Apple Butter

Let your slow cooker make this irresistible apple butter for you.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States