Slow Cooker Apple Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
REALLY like this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valorie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Made this recipe using Granny Smith & Yellow Delicious Only used 2 cups of Sugar one brown & one white. It was delicious and the entire family just loved the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
This was my first apple butter. I used 1/2 peck of winesap apples and cut this recipe in half. It turned out wonderful. The flavor and texture is very close to commercial brands that I've purchased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeachPeach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Great recipe but I find it best to use a variety of apples, some tart and some sweet. Also, I have added carmels the last hour and it is delicious. Cut back the white sugar to two cups if adding carmels
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
This was my first time ever making apple butter. It could not have been easier. I used Arkansas Black apples (about 15 large) until my crock-pot was full and really couldn't hold anymore. I also ended up mashing the apples after the first 8 hours and then I smushed everything through a wire strainer/sifter after it had cooked for about 22 hours. I wanted a smoother texture. I did end up cooking mine for about 25 hours just because I was trying to cook some of the liquid off to make it thicker (removed the lid the last 3 hours). I ended up with an apple butter that was great tasting and a really deep rich brown color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
I decided to make this as my first ever slow cooker recipe and cut the recipe down quite a bit. I only had 3 pounds of apples, so I reduced the remaining ingredients down so I was only making 1/4 of the original recipe. What happened - my apple butter burnt in the slow cooker during the second cooking cycle (10 hours on low). Any thoughts on why? Not enough liquid, not enough ingredients for the large cooker, etc.? Wondering if anyone else had the same type of experience thier first time out so I can figure out what I did wrong. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
An easy and tasty recipe. I have given jars as gifts for years and everyone loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by noodlelady

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
I cut this recipe in half and it still made a ton of Apple Butter. I used about 2/3 the amount of sugar (brown and white) that the recipe calls for and it turned out awesome! I even gave the stuff out at work and everyone who tried it LOVED it. The hardest part was peeling all those apples. Once peeled, I put the chunks of apple (minus the seeds of course) through the grater attachment of my food processor. Then, when I put the sugar in, I tested to see how chunky the apple butter was. It was still a little too chunky for my taste, so I took a potato masher and used that to stir/mash in the sugar. This is an awesome recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
I messed it up! Only made half a batch & when it came time to add the spices I used a whole cup of brown sugar. It's not bad tho. Kept waiting on my house to smell good but all I smelled was the apple cider vinegar. Will give this another try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
This recipe is excellent! Super easy. I cut the sugar back some, but this has great flavor. Perfect with biscuits!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

How to Make All-Day Apple Butter

Let your slow cooker make this irresistible apple butter for you.

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States