Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Whole Foods had a sale on organic whole chicken so I bought and brought home. My meal planning doesn't usually include whole chicken. I was happy to have found this recipe. I made a few tweaks and my family loved the results. I added the broth from boiling the organ meats and neck, along with some grated fresh ginger, and big chunks of carrots. I used only 4 cloves of crushed garlic but 8 whole peppercorns and two bay leaves. After about 7 hrs on low I served over brown rice. The meat was so juicy and just fell off the bone. delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
I used 1/2 cup soy sauce & substituted 1/2 cup red wine for the vinegar because I didn't want it to be too tangy for my picky eaters. I sprinkled cumin & used leg quarters because that's what I had. My pickiest eater (my 9- year-old son,) gave it a resounding 5 stars. Everyone liked it, & it was super easy. Definitely will add this to my busy work week stash of recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
I loved everything about this recipe, and the only change I made is that my garlic came out of a jar because I hate crushing it myself. Since it came out of a jar I used less than 8 cloves. I have made this several times and the last time I only had about a 1/2 c (maybe a little less) of soy sauce, so that is all I used. Every time it is delicious. One of my favorite recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
This was a great recipe. Super simple, super cheap and just a little different from the average marinade. I left out the onion and it was just as tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
I took a few of the reviewers advice and I left out the onion, used 1/3 cup of soy sauce, 1/4 cup red wine vinegar, 10 crushed garlic cloves, 1 cup of water, 2 bay leaves and a big TBS of peppercorn..I used drumsticks (thats what was in my freezer).. It turned out very good.. It was a nice balance of peppery, garlicky, slight vinegary chicken.. I think next time I will use a little less water cause I like my adobo a little vinegary.. But it didn't stink up the house and it went great with white rice.. I also made lumpias to go with it! Great time saver!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlishaL.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yuma, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
LOVE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rebeccabutler1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
This is a quick version of adobo. I recommend you try an authentic stovetop recipe first before a crockpot version so you can make changes based on knowing what it should taste like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Howth, County Dublin, Ireland
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
This was great!!! My husband spent a couple of years in the Phillippines and has always wanted to have more rice dishes. I heard him talking about Adobo but had not been able to make it well. This recipe worked really well for us. I did follow the advice of other posters and added 1 Tbsp of peppercorns to the recipe and put a little less of the vinegar (white distilled). My husband and I loved it and the kids even finished what we gave them. The leftovers were just as good as the night of.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
I make this recipe on a fairly regular basis. I like that it is quick (prep time, that is) easy, and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
It was okay. I'm also Filipina and my mother made this a staple as we were growing up. Like others have reported, she added bay leaves and peppercorns but there were no onions in it. This is good for throwing into the crockpot and having something hot and tangy to eat when you come home, but it wasn't quite what I think of as truly authentic. Close, but no ceeeegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 560) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

See how to make juicy “baked” chicken in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States